Mini Sweet Potato Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by YVega78
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Portion Control! Made these little pies for the first time this Thanksgiving and they were a hit! I did bake the potatoes instead of boiling, and used a round cookie cutter to make the shape for the muffin tins instead of rolling the pie crust dough into balls. Added a little flour, maple syrup, and vanilla to the mixture as well. Using 2 large sweet potatoes I had just enough for 18 regular sized muffin tins. These were awesome! And I can't wait to make other pie recipes in muffin tins! Just genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Add more sweet potato Cook pastry 5 min before filling, cook 10 min, broil to brown marshmallows. 1 sheet pastry = 1mini muffin pan = 24pies 4 adults 2 kids ate 16
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Instead of placing a half of cranberry on each pie I put 1 tsp. of cranberry relish on each pie then I added the 4 mini marshmallow. I then put it back in the oven to brown the marshmallow. So good it was the hit of the party. Crazmom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harker Heights, Texas, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is a perfect treat! We couldn't stop eating them! I made a few small changes: I had already baked sweet potatoes, so I used those. I also threw in half a ripe banana, used a whole jumbo egg, allspice instead of cloves, and didn't ball the dough as previously suggested. I did have to use 2 pie crusts. I used a full sized muffin tin and the batch made 12 perfect sized pies. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
These were very good. I made them to include in holiday treats to giveaway. After my pie crust was used up though, there was enough filling left to make 3 servings of custard. I just put it in glass prep bowls and microwaved for 1 minute on high. Next time I will go into a second crust to make more mini pies. I put a sweetened dried cranberry atop each pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is a great recipe. My 11 y/o daughter made these for Thanksgiving and they were a hit! We had to hide them so everyone would be able to have at least one. As other people mentioned we adjusted the spices to our liking, but no other changes. Thank you for sharing. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I found this recipe last year, a few weeks before Thanksgiving, and i THANK GOD that i did!!!! My family wanted to go to Ft.Myers last year to visit an aunt.. so when i tried the recipe a few weeks before as a "rough draft" they were immediately a hit!!!! I have now been placed in charge of the desserts for many years to come.. i ended up having to bake just over 100 of these bad boys in order for them to survive the trip to Ft. Myers AND still have enough for the family up there.. when i was questioned this year about it.. all my family said was "YOU BETTER MAKE THOSE MINI PIES, THEY'RE DELICIOUS". Hands down the best recipe i have ever found.. made them for my work as well and i'm now getting special orders (i refuse to give this recipe out) it's my best kept secret!!! :) absolutely love the recipe, fast easy and delicious!!! If i could give it more stars i would!!!! UPDATE: 10/19/2014 Thanksgiving is right around the corner, i'm still in charge of desserts (which totally freaking rocks) still making these pies but now instead of making them "mini" i've been using the same recipe and just making it a whole pie :) still a huge hit with everyone, and a lot less work!!! :D absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynelson603

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These were cute but bland in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Love this recipe! I made regular muffin-sized tarts and easily made 24 of them. I also used the canned sweet potatoes (2), drained and pureed. We ate a dozen of them and the other dozen are for a potluck tomorrow. I topped them with a simple Marshmallow Buttercream--perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IcanDoThisTrish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I thought these little tarts were OK but the measurements are WAY off!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassie12399

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States