Mini Southwestern Corn Pup Muffins with Fiesta Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I truly have a special place in my heart for corndogs. These little guys are FANTASTIC!! I used 3 veggie hotdogs for 24 mini muffins. I cut each hotdog into 8 equal pieces. Using a small cookie scoop, I put a full scoop into each well of my silicone mini muffin pan, placed a hotdog chunk into each one, and topped them off with about 1 teaspoon of batter. I added 2 teaspoons of sugar to the dipping sauce, decreased the taco seasoning to 1 tablespoon, and added 1 tablespoon of milk to make it taste like Taco Bell's Santa Fe sauce (the sauce they so cruelly discontinued!). SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Really good recipe, made a few changes; less sugar, more "spicy" spices, and used the mini muffin pans, 1/8 hot dog ratio like other suggested. All in all a really good change up for hot dogs. Didn't try the sauce because I don't like taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Great idea! I cut out the cumin because I just don't like it. Dipping sauce was so-so. I dipped mine in good ol' ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Winter Ivy
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
These are a definate make again. DH and I both ate a bunch of them, but the toddler just picked out the hot dog and ate that. So the spices make these suitable for the more "refined" palettes in the household, hahaha. The dipping sauce got bettr and better the longer it sat in the fridge (I think it took sometime for the flavors to meld), so my suggestion would be to make the sauce 1/2 a day before the muffins and let it sit (covered) in the fridge until serving time. -Diana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winter Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpswell, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Houston
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I made regular sized AND mini muffins and preferred the mini ones over the larger ones, the proportion seemed better. After I made them, I wondered if I could have added the rest of the taco seasoning (what I didn't use in the dipping sauce) into the muffin batter. May try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Houston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Center, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I made these half of the batter with the spices and half without. I thought my kids would like them without the spices. I thought they were just ok and my kids and husband hardly ate them at all. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANSNSTEVE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
These are pretty good! I used vegetable oil(because I had no canola) and I used mozzarella(because I had no monterey jack). Half of my kids liked them and the others just dug through to get the hot dog, so I probably will not make them again. I would make the cornbread muffins again without the hot dogs and serve it with homemade beanie weanies. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These are easy, quick, and very good. I did put two pieces of hot dog into each muffin. It did, however, overflow a few of the muffins, so although I will probably do that again, I will make a few more muffins to balance it out. I really liked the dipping sauce, too. Didn't think I would. Bf and I both liked it, and it's better than frying corn dogs. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
These were really good! I used cajun seasoning instead of chili powder and I also forgot the cheese (again), but they were still very good. I doubled the batch, good thing too, my kids had 3 each! The sauce is great too and could be used for a lot of different things. Thanks for a great recipe! I will make this again and try not to forget the cheese! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countygirl28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
These were ok. My kids picked the hot dogs out of the cornbread and just at them. I liked the sauce, just not with the corn dog muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winthrop, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States