Mini Southwestern Corn Pup Muffins with Fiesta Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Very tasty, quick, and easy recipe. Kids and adults love it. I made only one change, I used dry taco seasoning mix instead of chili powder. Only suggestion I have is I made batches with both regular cupcake pans and mini cupcake pans. The regular sized ones came out slightly harder to eat, and stuck heavily to the cupcake wrappers I used. This was quite irritating when trying to eat them. Also, there was almost too much cornbread to hot dog ratio.(cut each dog into 1/4 pieces) On the other hand, the smaller Mini ones I made with my nonstick mini pan, I cooked a few minutes less, in these I used 1/8 of a hotdog pieces, and it worked perfect. They were so yummy, everyone ate these and left the big ones after tasting both. Perfect hotdog-corn mixture ratio. They weren't as floppy as the big ones.Fun to eat! I will definitely make these again, but from now on will use the mini cupcake pans only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boifriendimpared

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I would give this recipe 5 stars...my husband and I loved it. However, my kids didn't like the spiciness of the muffins. Instead, they tore them apart looking for the hot dogs. We used veggie dogs in place of the regular hot dogs. I didn't even bother with the sauce. It was nice change from the same old stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I cheated and used a Jiffy Mix instead but with same results. The kids went crazy for these! All were gone as soon as they left the oven! Great lunch for little ones to help make....my son called these Corny Puppies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I probably messed this one up...but I got confused with this and another recipe...I used the Jiffy mix, added alot of cheddar cheese and two cans of green chilies...the rest of the spices and baked. They were really good....I guess I really didn't use this recipe, just liked the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Love, Love, LOVE THESE! I made a batch (mine made 48 mini muffins) took half to a party where they were gobbled up, and sent half (a few at a time) with my son's lunch to school. This was a great shake up from sandwiches and even just plain hot dogs. My husband loves these for a midnight snack as well. These are the BEST!! Thank you for this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHONDAM10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA
Living In: La Salle, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Easy and better than corndogs. I added about 1/2 tsp. more garlic powder and 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper. This was easily made vegetarian with veggie dogs and soymilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This made 12 muffins and they were a big hit at the cookout with my neighbor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This recipe could have been better. First, either the recipe was off or my ingredients were. I followed the recipe exactly and was only able to make one tray of 12 muffins with the batter and I only had a couple of hot dog pieces left over. The cornbread was tasty, but I felt like there was way too much cornbread for the amount of hot dog in the middle. My husband ended up peeling half the cornbread off to get to the hot dog. If I were to make this recipe again, I would use as big of a piece of hot dog as I could fit in the muffin well, and I would probably lay the hot dog piece sideways to fill more of the muffin. I probably won't bother to make again because there just wasn't enough "corn dog" in these corn muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
We really liked these. The sauce was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States