Mini Southwestern Corn Pup Muffins with Fiesta Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I used a "flax egg" instead of a regular egg since I was out (1 T ground flax seed & 1 T water) and less sugar than called for (~1//4 cup). It still turned out great and my kids liked them. I found the mini muffin tins took 10 minutes to cook and the regular muffin tins took almost 15. We just dipped ours in ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This recipe receives a 5-star rating because: 1 - DH doesn't like hot dogs, 2 - DH doesn't like corn bread, 3 - DH really liked this recipe! Go figure. The Fiesta Dipping Sauce is very good with this recipe, make sure you do make it. You could always make with your favorite corn bread recipe and it would turn out great. I started with the 4 hot dogs and had to use a fifth as I had corn bread left. My mini's must be smaller because I got 42 muffins with this recipe. Thank Athena for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I cheated and used Jiffy Corn Muffin mix as well, 2 boxes. I also made this a southwest type mix by adding 2 packages of taco seasoning to the mix. For the hot dogs I used the smoked little weenies and cut them in half. I poured the batter in mini muffin pans. I took them to our football tailgate this past week-end, and everybody raved about them. I came back empy handed too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This was really good. But the kids did not like it. I added green onions, lemon and cilantro to the dipping sauce. I will make these again and maybe put some onion in the muffin mix. I would also add less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Great little muffins, even for grab-n-go breakfast! They were better as mini-muffins. I diced the hot dogs, and although I left out the chili powder and cumin for my short people, I did keep the garlic powder for flavor. The kids loved too that these had cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I love these! I didn't know what to expect becauce there's another corn bread recipe that I really love that I was tempted to use - but I did follow this recipe exact (well except for using 1/2c whole wheat flour and 1/2c all purpose). These were really tasty - my son and I really loved them. DH not so much but he's never liked corn dogs so that's not really about this recipe. The mini muffin pan I have is apparently really mini lol I got 48 cute little pop-in-your-mouth muffins but we liked the size so I will make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I like the idea of the recipe, but didn't care for the cornbread recipe here and would use one I've made and liked instead next time. I used a few more hots dogs to evenly distribute them, left out the cheese as I served these with a baked macaroni & cheese and skipped the dipping sauce (we used ketchup and mustard). As a stand-alone snack, I'd use the cheese. I do think you could change the seasoning to something less fiesta-y (like garlic powder, onion powder, some kind of green herb) to make it kid-friendly taste-wise. I made them into heaped mini-muffins (I got 24) and can say I probably ate most of them to myself ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This was a fun recipe to try! I made it by following the recipe - the only alteration I made was that I chopped up some of the hot dogs and scattered them throughout the batter - I also used full-size muffin tins. The dipping sauce was a great addition too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison.allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I have done this myself but using Jiffy corn muffin mix (my personal fave). I love the dipping sauce, I usually just mix ketchup and mustard together, but this sauce is much more fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I cut the sugar a bit because I don't like sweet and meat. Also, I switched the hot dog for sausages (like cheddarwurst), cut the spices just a little and took them to school for breakfast. They were gone before even half the faculty arrived.My kids liked the plain corn dogs but my son wanted less cheese in the muffin, my daugher wanted less taco flavor. Guess I'll be making several versions! Also thinking this makes a nice replacement for sandwiches in boring school lunches when a microwave would be available to warm them. Also thinking about replacing the cheddar with american to cut the oil/grease in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States