Mini Salmon Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I actually enjoyed this a lot, but I changed it which is why I've only given it 3 stars as written. I'd give it 5 stars with the changes. I used a 14 1/2 oz can of salmon and not the 7 oz that was called for in the recipe. I also left out the celery only because I didn't have any, and didn't bother sauteing the onion. I used the liquid from the can of salmon in place of the milk and I also added about a half tsp of dillweed to the salmon mixture, and then used another half tsp in place of the fresh dill in the sauce. I halved the other ingredients for the sauce, and it was the perfect portion of sauce to accompany double the amt of salmon. Next time I may make patties and fry them, as I like the outside a little brown and crusty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I used 2 cans of salmon and doubled everything else...used Italian bread crumbs and added some butter to the mix. Sprinkled with butter cracker crumbs...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Really good, and much better than a traditional meat loaf. I doubled the recipe but used less oil (about 1 tbs) and egg beaters. I used Italian breadcrumbs and decreased the amount by about 25%. I found that keeping the bones and skin on was not a problem, since it's all soft and edible. I didn't make this sauce though, I served it with a yogurt-cucumber dill sauce and a side of mashed cauliflower. So good! The only thing is I baked it too long at about 45 min and it was a bit dry, so I will probably go for 35-40 min next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Yum! I don't even know how much I like salmon loaf - but this is a winner! I made some changes... We had a side of coho to use up, which we cut into small cubes instead of the canned fish. Then I doubled the rest of the loaf ingredients (to make up for the extra salmon), using dry bread crumbs and omitting the salt and pepper. For the sauce, I used two heaping tablespoons of mayo and six heaping tablespoons of plain yogurt, three tablespoons of milk (or to thin), juice from half a lemon, a teaspoon of sugar, lots of fresh dill and pepper. This made lots of sauce - cut it back if you like less. The sauce was delicious, but even without, the loaf turned out excellent. Firm, but moist. This is for sure going in the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Was fine. Looking for the exact recipe my husband remembers from his childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
LOVE! I used fresh caught coho. I simply but it in the food processor and buzzed it up to hamburger texture. I didnt change any of the ingedients. Next time i might add some cappers and dill to the meat just for fun. This is a great alternative to salmon patties...no frying involved :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSW00DY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
A little dry, but very, very yummy. We loved the dill sauce, I switched around the portions of sour cream & mayo, as I wanted to hide the mayo taste from my mayo-hating hubby, but other than that, I followed the recipe pretty closely. I added a little extra lemon juice to the dip, and a touch more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I made this for my SO who had been talking about salmon loaf for years and he Loved it, said it was way better than what mom used to make! I doubled the recipe and used a 14 oz can of salmon. I didn't make the dill sauce. Thanks for the recipe, I even enjoyed it and am typically not a fan of salmon:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I've been cooking lots of years but never tasted a better salmon loaf. I cut the recipe in half for two people, used two mini-loaf pans, ate one for dinner last night and will have the second one tonight. Perfect size for two people. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Yum! I doubled the recipe and baked mine for 55 min. Came out perfect, the sauce was a BIG hit with my family. I didn't saute the veggies, I like mine crunchy. I used half soft and half hard bread crumbs because that was all I had on hand. With a side of asparagus, this dish is one I will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiarakitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States