Mini Rotini with Carrots and Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
When the hubby's out of town I like to make something quick and easy that I know my 5 and 7 yr olds will eat with minimal complaints. This was a hit! I'm not a huge fan of peas myself, but they really work in this dish. Surprisingly, I actually had leeks on hand, so I pretty much followed the recipe except that I used Barilla PLUS elbows and I added garlic salt instead of regular salt and pepper (per another reviewer). Yea! Quick and easy, this will definitely go in our rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Nolen Woods

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ash Bhat
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Loved this recipe.... The kids enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Very good. We both enjoyed it. I caramelized the leeks just to add more flavor. There are only two of us, and because we love vegetables, I kept all the ingredients the same except halved the pasta. It was just right for us. I'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I subbed Barilla orecchiette for the rotini because I had it on hand- and I really loved how it turned out! I stuck to the spirit of the recipe, but I'd have to say that as-is the recipe is only mediocre and pretty bland (though the pasta itself was great). I ended up adding garlic powder, onion powder, red pepper flakes, a citrus/black pepper blend, and about a cup of Italian cheese blend to make it a little more melty. I also upped the basil. After the changes were made it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I went in a different direction with this because it just read like it needed something. I cooked the rotini in chicken broth, used frozen peas and carrots that I added to the rotini for the last 5 minutes. I had no leeks so I sauteed Vidalia onion, which I large diced, until golden. I served this at room temperature, dressed with really good EVO and white wine vinegar. I found this needed way more salt than I prefer to use and still needed something more to be really satisfying. I do like the idea so I'll play with it a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I thought this was very good. I didn't have leeks, so I used red onion and added red pepper flakes. Kids would love this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dog lover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
We needed a quick lunch before an impromptu trip to the zoo. This was so simple, fast, and tasty! I did not have any leeks on hand, so I used 2 cloves of fresh, shaved garlic. I also swapped out 2 Tbsp of the olive oil for 2 Tbsp of organic coconut oil and I also exchanged the salt for coarse ground garlic salt. Finally, I topped it all with freshly cracked black pepper and shredded Parmesan cheese. Quick, delicious, and a hit with all four of my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Can't quit figure this one out. I always have Barilla pastas on hand. This was lacking in the flavor department. I'm not quite sure what to add to give it the flavor it needs but I'll work on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Gluten Free Rotini with Pesto

Rotini pasta with cranberries and charred green onion and toasted cashew pesto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States