Mini Pumpkin Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Thanks for the great recipe! I used 1 1/2 cup of pumpkin since I usually add extra to all of my pumpkin cakes. I also added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. The texture was not as runny as some of the other reviews indicated. I used a tablespoon melon baller to drop onto a greased cookie sheet and baked for 12 minutes. They were a bit taller than I prefer, but tasted scrumptious! For the filling, I increased the cream cheese to 8oz., used 1 tsp vanilla, reduced powdered sugar to 1 cup, and 6Tbs of butter. I recommend reducing butter to 4 Tbs since the outcome was overly buttery. Be sure to refrigerate for at least an hour before indulging as they filling needs time to meld with the cake. Overall, these were very yummy and I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSWILLIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made these for Thanksgiving and they were fantastic. I made them the day before and covered with plastic wrap, and I think they were even more moist because of this. Also, I used a shortening-based traditional filling that I found on another whoopie pie recipe here, because I did not have room in my refrigerator to keep these cold overnight, and I was more than happy with the combination. Also, when I was about half way through, I put the batter in a plastic bag with the tip cut off, and I found that was easier to get them a uniform size. Although, its no big deal if they are not that uniform - I found that I could put together two that were next to each other, because even though my sizes were varied, they were pretty close if they were next to each other. (hope that makes sense) I'm not an experienced baker by any means, and these were very easy for me and made a great impression on my guests. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I altered the recipe a little: I only used 1/4 cup butter in the cookie dough, 1 cup granulated sugar, 1 1/4 cups pumpkin puree, and pumpkin pie spice instead of ginger. For the filling, I used 4 Tbsp butter instead of 6. I'm not sure how they would have turned out if I hadn't cut out some of the butter and sugar, but they turned out delicious the way I made them. They're best when they've been sitting in the refrigerator for a few hours and the filling has become even creamier. A great snack for school and work lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clarinetlover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Made these because my jelly roll pan has seen better days but I was craving a pumpkin roll. All in all, they're delicious! Since there were no reviews I made this exactly as-is. It was difficult to get the cookies all the same size because the dough/batter is pretty loose. My first pan turned out much too small. I did have it figured out toward the end though, and used the entire 13 minute baking time. The filling is good with the cookie, although it's pretty darn sweet and I would like a bit more cream cheese flavor. Next time I would use 5oz cream cheese and only 2 tablespoons of butter, and just a little less powdered sugar. Would have given five stars if it weren't for the super-sweet frosting and also presentation - with this loose dough, forming even circles would be REALLY hard - must've taken many batches to get those perfect cookies in the photo! I have faith in the AllRecipes readers though - a few tweaks and this is a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
OMG! These are great. Followed the recipe, and they turned out wounderful. I used two tsp. for the batter to make them somewhat uniform.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I made these for a picnic. They were gone within 30 minues. I did alter the cream cheese filling as suggested. Used 8oz cream cheese, 4 tblsn butter, 1 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1 cup powdered sugar. Awesome recipe, 2 people asked me for recipe. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Great recipe...I brought them to a party and they got rave reviews. I did make a couple of substitutions: used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 white sugar, added some ground cloves to the mix. For the icing, as suggested I cut back on the butter and added a little more cream cheese. I also had trouble getting the batter into circles...I tried 2 methods - free-form on a cookie sheet and a tablespoon or so in a muffin tin. The cakes rose a little too high in the muffin tin. I want to try a pastry bag next to try and form them better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
excellent cookie! I got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
These were awesome as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Perfect recipe just the way it is. I didn't change a thing and I know I will be making these little yummies for thanksgiving! So easy too! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janis1958

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States