Mini Pumpkin Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Made these because my jelly roll pan has seen better days but I was craving a pumpkin roll. All in all, they're delicious! Since there were no reviews I made this exactly as-is. It was difficult to get the cookies all the same size because the dough/batter is pretty loose. My first pan turned out much too small. I did have it figured out toward the end though, and used the entire 13 minute baking time. The filling is good with the cookie, although it's pretty darn sweet and I would like a bit more cream cheese flavor. Next time I would use 5oz cream cheese and only 2 tablespoons of butter, and just a little less powdered sugar. Would have given five stars if it weren't for the super-sweet frosting and also presentation - with this loose dough, forming even circles would be REALLY hard - must've taken many batches to get those perfect cookies in the photo! I have faith in the AllRecipes readers though - a few tweaks and this is a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I altered the recipe a little: I only used 1/4 cup butter in the cookie dough, 1 cup granulated sugar, 1 1/4 cups pumpkin puree, and pumpkin pie spice instead of ginger. For the filling, I used 4 Tbsp butter instead of 6. I'm not sure how they would have turned out if I hadn't cut out some of the butter and sugar, but they turned out delicious the way I made them. They're best when they've been sitting in the refrigerator for a few hours and the filling has become even creamier. A great snack for school and work lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clarinetlover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Perfect recipe just the way it is. I didn't change a thing and I know I will be making these little yummies for thanksgiving! So easy too! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janis1958

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
These were awesome as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I really liked this recipe - after making once, I added more pumpkin and added some clove! I took a batch to work and they disappeared quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Wow, these came out great. By mistake I used only 1 cup of sugar, but you dont notice a difference. I cooked them 12 minutes and they came out perfect. For the frosting I ended up using 2 cups of powder sugar to get the filling I wanted. Make sure to put them in the frig to "firm" up slightly, then enjoy. These are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
OMG! These are great. Followed the recipe, and they turned out wounderful. I used two tsp. for the batter to make them somewhat uniform.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Made these as written and they turned out great! I've tried pumpkin cookies in the past and didn't like the texture, but these were really good. The icing might benefit from some tweaking for sweetness/texture based on individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These are not only easy to make, but they are delicious too! They are definitely sweet, but that's what whoopie pies are supposed to be! They look like they take alot of effort, but they really don't- and this is coming from someone who doesn't bake very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made the cookies last night and my daughter and I thought the taste was ok. I made the frosting and put the cookies together today and the wow factor went way up. There are great! I will be making there again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States