Mini Pumpkin Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made these a few years ago for Thanksgiving and my family raved about them, so for a Halloween party, I said that I would attempt this recipe again. I did use vegan butter instead of regular butter (and wasn't exactly precise in my measurements), used a mixture of raw and organic sugar, and didn't have ground ginger on hand, so I used pumpkin pie spice instead. They came out beautifully! I cooked them until the edges were browned slightly, let them cool for a good 30 minutes, and then made them into little sandwiches. They were a huge hit and I'm already planning on making them again for Thanksgiving! A+ recipe and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
WOW! Amazing! I added 1/2 t nutmeg, used nearly the whole can of pumpkin. For the filling i used 8oz cream cheese and 1 t. vanilla. A cookie scoop works perfect to make the "pies" even. I will for sure make these for xmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
These were not as good as all the reviews led me to believe! I made them exactly as the recipe indicates and the cookie batter was a sticky mess. It was VERY difficult to even get the batter on the cookie sheet. So I spent about an hour doing that (a mess) and then frosted them with the cream cheese mixture, and was dissapointed that they didn't even taste good :( They were not pumpkin-y enough, and they were overly sweet. Even the next day, they were sticky and dry and really NOT good. I'm not sure where I went wrong where so many others were successful, but I would NOT recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Perfect! These were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These are so good and really easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
My sister in law made these for Thanksgiving as a alternative to the usual pumpkin desserts. They were so unbelievably awesome! I may try them as just a cookie with frosting (instead of sandwich style), it will make them last longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
made these to take to a friends house for thanksgiving, they were a hit!!! Everyone wanted the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Needles, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
So yummy!!!! These were a huge hit at a dinner party. I also used 8 oz. of 1/3 less fat cream cheese (you can't taste the difference), and reduced the butter. The easiest way to get these little guys uniform is my favorite new discovery...zip-top pizza storage bags. They are triangular shaped, and make great pastry bags. I get mine at Xmas Tree Shops in packages of 10 for $1.99. I can't even tell you how many of these I have gone through over the past few months!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEYEZ510

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
These are really tasty. They are also fairly easy to make. I would have given them 5 stars except they puffed up more than I personally would have liked. Also, in the picture they are nice and orange but mine were not that orange in color. The only change I made to the recipe is I added a few dashes of cloves as recommended in several reviews. I will likely make these again though because they do taste good and they are easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syndi Harris Bowlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
These are so good! I've made them twice & they went fast both times. I love spices so I add 1/4 tsp. ground cloves and 1/4 tsp. allspice. I use an even Tbsp. to measure out the cookies and it makes about 50-55 halves (25 cookies when done). For the filling I use 6 ounces cream cheese and 3 Tbsp. butter for a nice cream cheese flavor. I put the frosting in a large plastic bag and pipe it on to the cookies, it makes it really easy & fun to do! These are great the next day after being refrigerated and the cookie & frosting meld together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brisbane, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States