Mini Pumpkin Muffins with Orange Drizzle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
The orange drizzle definitely makes these muffins go from a regular pumkin muffin to something extra special! These were very moist and delicious. I changed up the spices a bit. To the pure pumpkin I added 2 tsp. of cinnamon, 1 tsp. of ginger, 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp. of allspice. I left the cloves out completely. I also added 1 tbsp. of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
If one is mindful that this is not intended to be cake, then the sweetness is just right and the flavor spot on. Just as I expected, these had more of a pure pumpkin flavor, not too sweet and not buried by frosting (which certainly has its own place too, with pumpkin cake or cupcakes). I was tempted to skip the step of cooking the pumpkin with the spices but I'm glad I didn't, because it's clear the process makes the flavor of the spices bloom. These are just the cutest, rustic looking little bite-size muffins, but in addition to 24 mini-muffins I got eight regular muffins as well (400 degrees, 15 minutes). I wanted the glaze to be visible and not soak into the muffin, so I just added enough orange juice to the powdered sugar to get it to an Elmer's glue-like consistency. This is just what I was after for Hubs to take to a morning meeting to offer with coffee -not too sweet, tasty and no fork required!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I was happily surprised by how well this recipe turned out! Initially, cooking the canned pumpkin seemed strange, but I think that cooking it with the spices must give the pumpkin a greater depth of flavor. However, it did make the muffin batter seem rather thick, but don't let this worry you! Despite the thick batter, the muffins turn out very moist with a cake-like consistency--not super dense or dry at all. FYI, I made a few minor alterations to the recipe: used 1 tsp of ginger instead of 1.5; used 2 tsp of cinnamon instead of 1; substituted light brown sugar for dark. I also made my own cinnamon glaze instead of the orange. (Hubby doesn't like orange, though it sounded tasty to me!) But the basic muffin recipe itself is great! I've tried a few pumpkin muffin recipes on allrecipes.com, and this one is my new favorite! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Oh-my-god good. I skipped the pre-cooking step, and prepared these as usual (mix wet, mix dry, mix together, fold in nuts.) I also skipped the drizzle -which I'm sure would have been great, just thought if they're good without it, why add calories?? But seriously really good. Oh, I cut the oil in half, substituting plain yogurt, upped the cinnamon a bit and added 1/4 ts of allspice and about 1/4c chopped pecans. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Very good. I have been selling these at a local farmers market I set up at. They always sell out. The only change I made was to the orange drizzle--I made it thicker (more conf. sugar & less OJ)than the recipe calls for, only because I package the muffins and the original drizzle recipe doesn't set up, making a mess when trying to get them neatly into a little treat bag!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I decided to use a disposable plastic pastry bag to put batter into those mini cups. I cut the bag's end a bit bigger and had those cups filled in no time! I then dipped fingers into water to press tips down. They smelled wonderful. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I really enjoyed these. I added approx. 1/8 tsp of all spice to the flour mixture to give it a little more spice. I have a convection oven so I had to bake them at 400 F. I made 2 different glazes: one with confectioners sugar and grand marnier and one with confectioners sugar and orange juice. I preferred the orange juice glaze- the one with grand marnier was a little too strong for the pumpkin flavor. Just a tip: Always sift the confectioners sugar before making a glaze- it will always come out smooth. But if there's lumps in the sifter afterwards, don't force them to go through, just throw them out. It can give you specks through out the glaze. I still feel like the batter could use a few more spices, so next time I will add some pupkin pie spice to the mixture. I will definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Gilbert-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Excellent, easy and moist! I replaced the pumpkin puree with pumpkin pie filling to make it easier and skipped the heating on the stove. I made 18 large muffins and baked at 375 for 15 minutes. My 4 year old loves them too! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
These were a hit for Sunday brunch. I didn't do the glaze. I just mixed some powdered sugar, cinnamon & a little ground ginger & sifted it over the muffins. They baked nicely & came out of the pan easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKANDDEEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Awesome muffins! So moist. I only had pumpkin pie spice, but it didn't make a difference. I didn't make the orange drizzle, but I don't think it needed it. Oh, I didn't have a mini pan, so I just made 18 regular sized muffins (only 5 minutes more in the oven). And, to lower the fat, I used 1 egg, 1/2 cup egg substitute and 3 Tbsp of applesauce in place of half of the oil. And the muffins were still divine. My husband, who isn't a fan of muffins, gobbled them down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States