Mini Pumpkin Muffins with Orange Drizzle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
As someone who has managed to avoid the kitchen most of my adult life (but now a newlywed), this one is a MUST in your recipe collection. I was even brave (inspired) enough to substitute a Powdered Sugar with Ground Ginger (to taste) to dust the tops instead of the Orange Drizzle. To all, I am a star at our Church Fellowship hour! Any questions??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domestically impaired

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tryon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Recipe is easy & yummy! Tasty even without the drizzle topping. Am sharing with my mother!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Our family loves these muffins. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out delicious. Love the icing. I am eating them right now. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I was happily surprised by how well this recipe turned out! Initially, cooking the canned pumpkin seemed strange, but I think that cooking it with the spices must give the pumpkin a greater depth of flavor. However, it did make the muffin batter seem rather thick, but don't let this worry you! Despite the thick batter, the muffins turn out very moist with a cake-like consistency--not super dense or dry at all. FYI, I made a few minor alterations to the recipe: used 1 tsp of ginger instead of 1.5; used 2 tsp of cinnamon instead of 1; substituted light brown sugar for dark. I also made my own cinnamon glaze instead of the orange. (Hubby doesn't like orange, though it sounded tasty to me!) But the basic muffin recipe itself is great! I've tried a few pumpkin muffin recipes on allrecipes.com, and this one is my new favorite! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I loved these. Pumpkin is my favorite muffin flavor and the glaze gives it just the right sweetness. I followed the recipe exactly except the glaze I didn't measure the ingredients I just used the sugar and orange to my own consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Very good. I have been selling these at a local farmers market I set up at. They always sell out. The only change I made was to the orange drizzle--I made it thicker (more conf. sugar & less OJ)than the recipe calls for, only because I package the muffins and the original drizzle recipe doesn't set up, making a mess when trying to get them neatly into a little treat bag!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I really enjoyed these. I added approx. 1/8 tsp of all spice to the flour mixture to give it a little more spice. I have a convection oven so I had to bake them at 400 F. I made 2 different glazes: one with confectioners sugar and grand marnier and one with confectioners sugar and orange juice. I preferred the orange juice glaze- the one with grand marnier was a little too strong for the pumpkin flavor. Just a tip: Always sift the confectioners sugar before making a glaze- it will always come out smooth. But if there's lumps in the sifter afterwards, don't force them to go through, just throw them out. It can give you specks through out the glaze. I still feel like the batter could use a few more spices, so next time I will add some pupkin pie spice to the mixture. I will definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Gilbert-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
The batter for these muffins is thick, so they don't look especially pretty (lumpy on top), but they are delicious little morsels! I used the small Pampered Chef scoop to fill my mini-muffin pans, and I ended up with five dozen rather than three. I made the icing a little thicker, and there wasnt' enough for all the muffins. Maybe 3/4 c. powdered sugar instead? Pumpkin isn't usually my favorite flavor, but I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This recipe produces 36 of the most delicious and moist mini muffins I have ever tasted.To accommodate my family's taste for spicy pumpkin and nuts, I doubled the cinnamon and cloves and added 1.5t of pumpkin pie spice and 1 cup of toasted chopped walnuts. I left the glaze off. Yummy! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This is a super easy recipe - basically the only thing making it a little more difficult is that you cook the pumpkin first (but come on, that is not difficult at all!) I added extra spices to the pumpkin (allspice, etc.), but I wish I had some pumpkin pie spice to throw into it. It cooked up easily, and you could easily tell when it was "done." I did not have dark brown sugar, so I used light, but I bet dark would have been even better - yummy. Before baking, I sprinkled finely chopped pecan pieces (the kind often used in cookies) on top. The 36 muffins puffed up and browned so nicely, it almost looked like they didn't need a glaze, but I did make a slightly thicker drizzle using 3/4 C 10X sugar (sifted again per previous suggestion). In about 10 minutes the glaze was hard and easily transportable. I can't wait to make these again for my daughter's school party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States