Mini Pineapple Upside-Down Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I've been making pineapple upside down cake for over thirty years. I learned a super easy recipe in home ec in the 7th grade. I wanted something different and just adore the concept of mini individual cakes. I followed the suggestion of others... used pineapple cake mix and left out the pineapple juice. I didn't fuss with slices and went for crushed instead. Plus I put the cherry in the bottom of each cup before layering and baking. I decided to use giant "Texas" size muffin tins, which increased the cooking time to about 34 minutes, and yielded 16 cakes. Just an FYI, instead of mixing the butter and brown sugar together, I simply divided the butter between all the muffin cups, then added about 3/4 of a table spoon of brown sugar to each cup. My 23 year old daughter just tried one and said it was AWESOME! In the future, I will make the individuals instead of the whole cake. Big kudos for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
These were very easy to make. I used the regular size cupcake tins and didn't find the trimming of the pineapple rings to be time-consuming. I stacked several on each other and cut through them together, taking out about 1/3 of the ring to use to piece together the last few. I used 1/2 cherry for each cupcake and it fit perfectly. I let them cool for five minutes as another reviewer suggested and they tipped out very easily. They were a mess, to be sure, but looked cute. I thought they were delicious out of the oven, but didn't hold up well for the next day because they were too soggy by then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
These really are good!!! I used a pineapple supreme cake mix. Also....if you want to make them even more portable....use the foil cupcake cups (found in the baking section) and about 6 minutes before they are done...add a cherry to the top. The foil cups prevent the juice from leaking out the way a paper cupcake cup would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vince'sgirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
moist, yummy, cherry, pineapple! these are just as enjoyable to eat as they are to look at. i did put the cherry in before baking and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Ash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Love these cute little cakes! I'm not a big fan of actual pineapple but love the flavoring, so I used a little crushed pineapple as topping and also used pineapple cake mix as suggested by pps. They turned out great! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIE778

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Used others' suggestions: pineapple cake mix, applesauce instead of oil, pineapple tidbits. The result was pretty tasty. I also converted into mini muffins, using 1 pineapple tidbit, and a cherry half-they turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Yummy! Loved this recipe ~ We have made this several times......Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
VERY cute and VERY good! Will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I altered the recipe but took off on the idea. The little cakes look like alot of work went into them but was really a very quick. I used Supreme Pineapple box cake mix and followed the directions on the box. Then followed the procedure of assembling the cakes. I put the cherry in before baking which was fine. Delicious and attractive. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Ostrowski-Callen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Fantastic, The presentation is awesome. I like to make this for family dinners because everyone has their own pineapple and cutting the cake into serving pieces is eliminated. We have a sauce made with milk, sugar and vanilla bean that we spoon over it, sort of like having melted vanilla ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States