Mini Parmesan Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
These were soo good! I'm not sure what texture I was expecting, but these tasted like biscuits to me. Either way, they were outstanding. They make a ton, though, and I might halve the recipe next time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantae B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Loved these! I added a cube of frozen minced garlic (from Trader Joes) to the butter as I melted it, which gave a nice garlick-y twang. And I added about a tbsp each of dried basil and oregano (I'm not a measure-er, I just eyeball it) to the flour mixture. Also I added about 50% more cheese. The result is yummy!!..............Plus, I was surprised that the oven temp was so low. Traditional biscuit (face it, scone is just a fancy word for biscuit) recipes call for an oven temp of 425. So I baked my last pan at 400 and loved how crispy these were on the outside. Obviously I had to bake them for a shorter period of time............Thanks for such a great base recipe. I really needed this type of appetizer for a book group meeting.................PS-this kind of recipe would be awesome made as a pull-apart: roll the dough into large marble sized balls, roll in garlic butter then parmesan and pile them in a bundt/tube pan. Pour over the extra butter and parmesan and bake till done. My mouth is watering just thinnking about that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
tasty little biscuit but definitely not a scone. just my pet peeve. i guess a scone is just a glorified biscuit anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This wasn't a very tastey addition to our dinner. While the biscuit did puff up, it tasted very baking powdery, and the cheese didn't mesh well with the cayenne pepper or the biscuit style. Can't imagine how to make this better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Easy and Yummy. Only change is to put more grated parmesan on top, and dab a little bit of milk to make the scone look golden. Takes a bit longer than stated as well, about 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
WOW! LOVED these! I am all about quick and easy recipes, so instead of rolling them out and cutting them into rounds (which ends up taking a whole lot of time), I just scooped the dough into a mini muffin pan and it easily makes 24. The cayenne pepper sprinkled on top is amazing. Parmesan scones with a bite. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. The scones were dough-y and chewy. Not at all what I had hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These would have been good biscuits, except they were way WAY too salty. I would suggest cutting the salt down to a 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Great recipe - thanks so much to pomplemousse for the substitution on self-rising flour! Worked perfectly. I added in herbes-de-provences (which has a lot of rosemary), oregano, garlic salt, garlic powder, and extra parmesan. I used chili flakes for colour instead of cayenne (which would blend in more). Basically this is a great recipe, to which you can add any herb or seasoning you prefer - the recipe itself is totally sound. I flipped them over after 14 minutes and did another 2 or 3 to brown the tops (personal preference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
These are awesome!! Sprinkled with some ground oregano rather than the pepper before baking. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States