Mini Parmesan Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Tasty, but a little tough, maybe using no High -gluten flour next time will help. They froze well, and popping one in the toaster oven with dinner is a great convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
This was really good except for one thing. It was very salty. Well, I confess, I did use Kraft grated Parmesan cheese and I used a little more than 1/2 cup but I also cut down on the salt to one teaspoon. I didn't have self rising flour so I used 3 teaspoons of baking powder. It is delicious, light and fluffy but just 1/2 teaspoon would have been fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
These scones are really very good but I found them to be much too salty. The parmesan itself is salty and with 1-1/2tsp added was too much. I will definitely make them again but with only 1/2 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
These were pretty good. Like other reviewers, I also added more parm and sprinkled some on top too. I was hoping for a fluffier version, but we really did enjoy these Karla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Like other viewers suggested, I added extra parmesan cheese; in fact, I almost doubled the amount called for in the recipe. These were very moist and good, however, mine turned out kind of doughy and tasting a little flour-like. Perhaps I cut mine too large for the cooking time specified (I didn't have a cookie/biscuit cutter, so I used the mouth of a drinking glass.) The cayenne sprinkled on top added a nice, lasting kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
More like a mini-biscuit rather than a scone, but yummy none the less. I used all-purpose flour rather than self-rising, so I added 3 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of sea salt (for 2 cups of flour). So easy and so quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Karla, great recipe! Thanks for sharing. I've made these several times and they always turn out light and fluffy. Tonight I made them with 2T finely minced chives, 1t garlic powder and 3T asiago cheese (along with the Parmesan you suggest). Yummy! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
These were excellent, and reminded me more of biscuits than the scones that I have had in the past. Next time I might add a little more Parmesan cheese because I don't think I could taste it that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Very easy to prepare. Definitely reminded me of fast food chains' breakfast biscuits. I didn't have self-rising flour on hand, so I did the trick of adding 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt per cup of all purpose flour. Ended up a little too salty, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States