Mini Parmesan Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Tasty, but a little tough, maybe using no High -gluten flour next time will help. They froze well, and popping one in the toaster oven with dinner is a great convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
This was really good except for one thing. It was very salty. Well, I confess, I did use Kraft grated Parmesan cheese and I used a little more than 1/2 cup but I also cut down on the salt to one teaspoon. I didn't have self rising flour so I used 3 teaspoons of baking powder. It is delicious, light and fluffy but just 1/2 teaspoon would have been fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
These scones are really very good but I found them to be much too salty. The parmesan itself is salty and with 1-1/2tsp added was too much. I will definitely make them again but with only 1/2 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
These were pretty good. Like other reviewers, I also added more parm and sprinkled some on top too. I was hoping for a fluffier version, but we really did enjoy these Karla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Like other viewers suggested, I added extra parmesan cheese; in fact, I almost doubled the amount called for in the recipe. These were very moist and good, however, mine turned out kind of doughy and tasting a little flour-like. Perhaps I cut mine too large for the cooking time specified (I didn't have a cookie/biscuit cutter, so I used the mouth of a drinking glass.) The cayenne sprinkled on top added a nice, lasting kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
More like a mini-biscuit rather than a scone, but yummy none the less. I used all-purpose flour rather than self-rising, so I added 3 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of sea salt (for 2 cups of flour). So easy and so quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Karla, great recipe! Thanks for sharing. I've made these several times and they always turn out light and fluffy. Tonight I made them with 2T finely minced chives, 1t garlic powder and 3T asiago cheese (along with the Parmesan you suggest). Yummy! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
These were excellent, and reminded me more of biscuits than the scones that I have had in the past. Next time I might add a little more Parmesan cheese because I don't think I could taste it that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Very easy to prepare. Definitely reminded me of fast food chains' breakfast biscuits. I didn't have self-rising flour on hand, so I did the trick of adding 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt per cup of all purpose flour. Ended up a little too salty, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty winter twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States