Mini Orange Mince Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I enjoyed the crust on these tarts but my hubby didn't care for it as he found it too crunchy and because it was mini, it didn't have enough mincemeat. I liked it but he didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I decided to try to make these when I saw all the positive reviews by Brits. They are the mince pie experts! Made it as is and they came out fantastic. Keeping all crust ingredients chilled and handling the dough as little as possible is key. Mini pies like this are much better, in my opinion, then a large slab of pie. Too much filling in those, which can be overwhelming. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Perfect for the mince filling I made! I used cold orange juice instead of water as other people suggested, and added 1/4 tsp cloves. I forgot to buy oranges, though, so I only had one to zest and had to share it with the filling, so the orange flavor wasn't as strong as it probably should have been. Still very good and easy dough to handle. It baked up perfectly. I made mine with star-shaped top crusts as in the photo (some with one large star and others with three small stars) and the result is a delicious, festive treat. I didn't roll out as thin as I should have so I only got twelve tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Loved these and so did the family and bunco girls.. fun to make also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
These are delicious! I added more cinnamon & added clove. They were a huge hit! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
These went down a treat at Christmas! The pastry with the orange zest is outstanding & buttery! Will make again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NolaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I really liked these. Yummy! In fact, I couldn't stop eating them! I used fluted rings to cut the dough and I didn't really seal them, I just let the tops sit like little hats. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryEliz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I made these for my husbands family who love mince meat. They all loved them. My husband wants me to make him more for his birthday. This really was a wonderful recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Great recipe...I also used orange juice in place of water in the pastry. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
These were fantastic! Great flavour with the pastry. I also topped some with a streusel topping (one I use for blueberry muffins on this site) and that was good too as it complimented the cinnamon in the pastry. All eaten very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States