Mini Mushroom and Goat Cheese Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This was a great, quick and super easy recipe! After I put the cheese and parsley on it, I put it back in the oven for a short time to soften the cheese. I will definitely make these again...expecially for a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
These were delicious and easy to make. The only thing I would do different next time is cut the puff pastry into smaller pieces to make them bite size. Also I'd like to try different cheeses or a mixture of cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by easypeasy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Bandon, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Well, this was an adventure for us. I have never had goat cheese. Just couldn't quite bring myself to use goat cheese. I used the feta. As usual, I made two batches. The first one exactly as written and a second time with some changes. The isntructions are pretty simple andwe really enjoyed them. The second time I made them I added some onion, a little garlic powder and a sprinkle of Mrs. Dash Tomato, Basil & Garlic seasoning. All said both versions were quite tasty and would like to have them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I jumped at this receipe because of the goat cheese and th reviews. I could not keep the mushroom mixture and cheese on top of the pastry and had to use a knife and fork.....not convenient for an appetizer. I agree with most of the comments that more blending of the flavors is necessary along with other ingredients like onions and peppers. I think baking the mushrooms and cheese inside a pastry would keep the appetizer together and blend the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
These were quick and easy to make and we really liked them. I made half the batch exactly as written and the other half I added a splash of dry white wine and cracked black pepper to the mushrooms during cooking. I also popped the assembled tarts in the oven for a minute or 2 so the flavors would meld. It made this good recipe, great. I will definitely make these again, especially when I want to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieItaliano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
These were excellent! I sauteed the mushrooms with onion, garlic, butter, salt, pepper, and worcestershire. We don't like parsley so we omitted it. What a great appetizer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I added red and orange pepper to the mushrooms during the saute process. I also added sundried tomatoes as the base. Instead of puff pastery I used slices of artisan sea salt filone brean from safeway. sprinkle with fresh parsley. At the end I tested paper thin sliced cucumber, chilled once pulled out of the oven to ad a fresh crunch. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DondeJB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Those who found this not so tasty might want to try 'real' feta, which can be found in the gourmet cheese section of most grocery stores. American feta is made from cow's milk and is dry and bland - Greek feta is made with sheep and goat milks (and sometimes just goat or just sheep), but the texture and the flavor makes a big, big difference to any recipe calling for feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Great recipe. Everyone in my family loved it. Very easy to make. Be sure to serve immediately after removed from the oven, so will still be warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These were really good! I added onion and seasoning to the mushrooms while sauteing. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Goat Cheese Bruschetta

A somewhat sweet, mostly savory, all delicious appetizer—or even dessert.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States