Mini Mushroom and Goat Cheese Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This was a great, quick and super easy recipe! After I put the cheese and parsley on it, I put it back in the oven for a short time to soften the cheese. I will definitely make these again...expecially for a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ADZELL
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
YYYEEESS! These were soooooooooo good! I made these exactly as written, except that I forgot to poke holes in the puff pastry before cooking (and therefore the little buggers really didn't want to stay down after I flattened them)but that didn't affect the taste or anything. Made these to go with the Rosemary Chicken Kabobs for dinner tonight & between my dad & I they were long gone (the tarts that is, they were even more popular than the chicken). LOVE everything about this recipe...it is sooo easy to make, quick & the tastes combine beautifully. Warning:you will not be able to eat just one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
These were quick and easy to make and we really liked them. I made half the batch exactly as written and the other half I added a splash of dry white wine and cracked black pepper to the mushrooms during cooking. I also popped the assembled tarts in the oven for a minute or 2 so the flavors would meld. It made this good recipe, great. I will definitely make these again, especially when I want to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieItaliano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happycooker
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Delicious, however I made them as is and fried some onions in a second batch and liked it better. The directions weren't clear with what to do with the puff pastry, so if your not familiar with puff pastry it would be rather confusing. Otherwise great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I made this for a family gathering of about 8 adults, the puff pastry was easy to work with, and I feel that for this appetizer the flattening process was necessary. It does not make it into a soda cracker. I liked all of the components separately but together they should have been exciting but they kind of all blended together the texture wasn't exciting. I kind of blame it on the puff pastry. I think a pizza crust or a crispy french bread may have suited the mushrooms and goat cheese better. They were nice to look at. No one at the get together had more than one, and about 8 pieces got tossed. The general consensus was that they were just okay. The other problem is that these must be served right out of the oven once they get to luke warm they need to be warmed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Well, this was an adventure for us. I have never had goat cheese. Just couldn't quite bring myself to use goat cheese. I used the feta. As usual, I made two batches. The first one exactly as written and a second time with some changes. The isntructions are pretty simple andwe really enjoyed them. The second time I made them I added some onion, a little garlic powder and a sprinkle of Mrs. Dash Tomato, Basil & Garlic seasoning. All said both versions were quite tasty and would like to have them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
These were delicious and easy to make. The only thing I would do different next time is cut the puff pastry into smaller pieces to make them bite size. Also I'd like to try different cheeses or a mixture of cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by easypeasy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Bandon, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made these as written, using the feta substitution. Maybe it was because I didn't use goat cheese, but I was unimpressed. I thought that they just tasted like the individual ingredients, and didn't gel into a unified flavor. I think the goat cheese might be the key, and when I was eating them, I really felt like onion would have added a lot to them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
These were great. I made three different appetizers for a dinner party and these were the favorites. I used a combination of shitake and oyster mushrooms and the delicate flavors worked great with the puff pastry. Next time I'll make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These were really good! I added onion and seasoning to the mushrooms while sauteing. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Goat Cheese Bruschetta

A somewhat sweet, mostly savory, all delicious appetizer—or even dessert.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States