Mini Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
Light, fluffy and hmmm, so moreish! And lucky for my waistline, also light on calories! I can enjoy these delectable delights and still fit into my jeans! They get my thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
I only made these because I had leftover egg whites from Amys Garlic Chicken from this site. My gas oven cooked these too fast and they started to brown so I had to take them out after 15 minutes. Next time I will lower my oven temp. I've never had meringue before and I thought these were a little too sweet for my taste. Also I spilled my vanilla so I used Caffe Lolita and I beleive thats why my meringues were not as crunchy as they should have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
Great fun and absolutely addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
My daughter and I love the tiny sugar-free meringues that we purchase at the supermarket. We adjusted this recipe using Splenda sweetener and assorted flavorings including pineapple and lemon extracts. After baking in our convection oven at 300 degrees for thirty minutes, these little meringues were just like the supermarket variety, except much cheaper. Yum. A tasty, simple indulgence that doesn't affect our waistlines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Perhaps it was my oven, but these were already evenly browned 20 minutes in, so I turned the heat off and let them finish as they cooled. Even if the meringues didn't turn out as planned, the brown was a lovely color, so I was pleased. Another problem I had was that they were not baked through and through. so they were crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. I think this is because I was making meringue cups and ended up making them twice as large as they should be. This leads me to my next comment: If you've never made meringues before, you should expect them to expand quite a bit in the oven. You wouldn't think something with so much extra volume beaten into it could fluff up even more, but it can. So be careful when spacing them. All in all, a satisfying result. Despite the 2-in-1 texture and early browning, this recipe was a success: the flavor was 10 times better than any store-bought meringues that I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
these were easy, but I used confectioner's sugar and only needed 1/3 cup, and added 2 tbsp powdered coco. They are great, I keep them at work for that afternoon sweet tooth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELANIE17R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
they were easy and tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
The outside off the meringues where cooked perfectbuteh middlewas not,and it was all gooy,buttheystill tasted yummy!!! They are great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
These were very easy and lovely to eat! I dropped one of my last 2 eggs so I halved all ingredients and in typical AllRecipes fashion changed sugar to 2 tsp sweet n low and the extract to a generous dash of sugar free syrup. Made the mix into 3 huge meringues and baked it at 300 for 40, then 200 for another 10 mins and allowed them to cool in the oven. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
so instead of sugar i used splenda, and insodoing lowered the calorie count per giant meringue (not mini at all!!) !! i wanted something sweet and crunchy for my new healthier regime, and these fit the bill. melt in your mouth and cotton candy like...i did add 1/4 tsp lemon zest and next time would put more, while probably halving the splenda because these were VERY sweet. i liked when the center was gooey AND when it solidified. who knew meringues were so easy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States