Mini Meringues Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
My daughter and I love the tiny sugar-free meringues that we purchase at the supermarket. We adjusted this recipe using Splenda sweetener and assorted flavorings including pineapple and lemon extracts. After baking in our convection oven at 300 degrees for thirty minutes, these little meringues were just like the supermarket variety, except much cheaper. Yum. A tasty, simple indulgence that doesn't affect our waistlines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
so instead of sugar i used splenda, and insodoing lowered the calorie count per giant meringue (not mini at all!!) !! i wanted something sweet and crunchy for my new healthier regime, and these fit the bill. melt in your mouth and cotton candy like...i did add 1/4 tsp lemon zest and next time would put more, while probably halving the splenda because these were VERY sweet. i liked when the center was gooey AND when it solidified. who knew meringues were so easy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Made with three egg whites, "Armando's Mexican Natural Vanilla," and 1/4 cup of "Splenda Sugar Blend," these mini meringues are reminiscent of the angel food candies that are in grocery stores at Christmas time. Delicious! Agreed, best to bake at a lower temperature (200-250) as they do brown quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
LittoBubbo, you might want to get an oven thermometer and check the actual temp inside your oven against what you're setting it at. It sounds like you're baking them at WAY too high a temperature. 300º is a little high for any kind of meringue recipe to cook properly though. At a lower temp, the inside gets a chance to dry out before the outside browns or burns. Don't forget - egg whites and sugar both burn easily. If you like a chewy interior, go with the 300º and shorter baking time and know that the insides will be moist and chewy. If you like them cooked completely and prefer them crispy all the way through, go with 250º or so and bake longer and slower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Perhaps it was my oven, but these were already evenly browned 20 minutes in, so I turned the heat off and let them finish as they cooled. Even if the meringues didn't turn out as planned, the brown was a lovely color, so I was pleased. Another problem I had was that they were not baked through and through. so they were crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. I think this is because I was making meringue cups and ended up making them twice as large as they should be. This leads me to my next comment: If you've never made meringues before, you should expect them to expand quite a bit in the oven. You wouldn't think something with so much extra volume beaten into it could fluff up even more, but it can. So be careful when spacing them. All in all, a satisfying result. Despite the 2-in-1 texture and early browning, this recipe was a success: the flavor was 10 times better than any store-bought meringues that I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
WILL SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME? whenever i try to make these.. dey turn brown and dey burn on the bottom like crazy and are really undone inside.. and when i open the oven door they deflate and turn rock hard! someone PLEASE help me. ive been at it for three weeks and iVe gotten NO WHERE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittoBubbo

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
these were easy, but I used confectioner's sugar and only needed 1/3 cup, and added 2 tbsp powdered coco. They are great, I keep them at work for that afternoon sweet tooth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELANIE17R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
Light, fluffy and hmmm, so moreish! And lucky for my waistline, also light on calories! I can enjoy these delectable delights and still fit into my jeans! They get my thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I used 1/3 cup powdered sugar and they turned out great. They were a little brown, but still tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forestville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
These were very easy and lovely to eat! I dropped one of my last 2 eggs so I halved all ingredients and in typical AllRecipes fashion changed sugar to 2 tsp sweet n low and the extract to a generous dash of sugar free syrup. Made the mix into 3 huge meringues and baked it at 300 for 40, then 200 for another 10 mins and allowed them to cool in the oven. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Peppermint Meringues

See how to make these festive Christmas cookies.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States