Mini Meatloaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This is, hands down, the best meatloaf recipe I've ever tried. I would have never thought to use oatmeal as a filler, but it definitely works! Even people that hate meatloaf love this recipe. And no matter what anyone says, it does NOT taste like an oatmeal cookie. As a matter of fact, no one I've ever served it to has ever guessed that the secret ingredient is oats. The only thing I do differently is make a brown gravy to go over the meatloaf upon serving. I cook a 1/4 cup flour with a 1/4 cup melted butter in a small saucepan until it forms into a paste and starts to brown. Then I add 2 cups of beef stock, and stir until thickened. I then kick up the taste by adding a cube of Knorr Beef Concentrated Stock and a tsp of Kitchen Bouquet. I serve this with the meatloaf and mashed potatoes. There is something magical about the taste of the gravy together with the tomato/brown sugar topping. If you are a mushroom fan, sauté some mushrooms with the butter until soft, and then proceed with the flour, stock, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Shawhan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This recipe is from a 199? Taste of Home Magazine and I make every other week. Works really well with $3 a pound ground Turkey85-15. Original title was "little Cheddar Meat loaves". Needs some fat not as good with the ground white turkey. Have also tried with ground chicken was okay. Need a snack and have one left in the frig. as an edit It was the 2000 collectors edition. entered by Katy Bowron of Cocolalla,Idaho she got it from her aunt as a teen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Sounds good, I will try but with a reduced amount of regular oatmeal (organic) and perhaps some sauteed onion. Also, I usually use a mini-loaf pan, which works perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I have been making this for years, my family and friends love it, we call ours "little cheddar meat loaves" Use Gluten free oats and it's good if you have any celiacs in your family! Pair with mashed potatoes and a vegetable of choice and you have a great anyday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I haven't tried this recipe but it's similar to one I've been using for 50 years. I gave it 5 stars to counter-act Larry's rating of two. For over 30 years I've been using oatmeal instead of breadcrumbs because one day I didn't have breadcrumbs in the house so I substituted the oatmeal instead. I love oatmeal cookies but believe me, this doesn't taste like oatmeal cookies at all. In fact, you cannot even taste the oatmeal, it's just a binder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I have always added Brown sugar and Maple flavored oats to my meatloaf and when it is almost cooked I pour a mixture of catsup, Brown sugar and Worcester (I think that's how it's spelt) sauce over top and cook for another 45 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Borman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This recipe is very similar to meatloaf i make. My difference is i always use onion in mine and i also use A-1 or Heinz 57 in place of catsup. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
The first time I made this recipe, it was too salty for my taste. I made it again tonight, but this time I didn't add any salt. I also added some Worcestershire sauce and a little onion and garlic powder. It was perfect! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
My husband and I grew up disliking meatloaf, sorry mom. However, I blame the recipe not our moms. When we married I promised not to make it. Today in a last minute desperate attempt for a meal, I found this one on All Recipes with over 1500 likes in the 5 star category. I figured, if it has that many likes it has to be good. I decided to try it. Long story short, it was a hit! My husband said "excellent dinner" and the kids loved it as well and asked for seconds. This is definitely a keeper in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Smith Knott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Love this recipe! I've made it many times. I find that to satisfy my honey and friends, I need to ad 1/2 to 1 whole onion, depending on the size, a dash of worcestershire, and and extra 1/2 cup of the quick oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Race

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,652) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Mary's Meatloaf

Even non-meatloaf fans like this rich dish. The secret’s in the glaze.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States