Mini Meatball Subs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
These little bit sized mini subs of tastiness, are keepers for our family! I would have given these 5 STARS if I hadn't tweaked it to make it healthy. First I used 97% lean ground turkey instead of ground beef to lower the fat and calories. I left out the green onion and decided to sauté the onion before adding it to the meatball mixture to add a little more moisture. I was able to get 15 nice sized mini meatballs. I jar my own marinara which has all fresh ingredients so I chose to use that for the sauce, I used whole wheat rolls for the subs, and I also used low moisture, low fat mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaHealthNut

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
My husband loved this recipe! I made several small meatballs (instead of large ones) and substituted bread crumbs for the crackers. This was such an easy recipe and I'd definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
These turned out great! I followed the recipe except baked (first bake, not the cheese melting bake) them for an additional 8 minutes b/c I forgot to set the timer!! But they were just fine. I served two on whole wheat brat buns and it was perfect. My husband, picky eater, told me to make these again soon! Yay!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I used my own meatball recipe, but this idea is great! I also made them before hand, baked for 15 min @ 350 to get them browned, and them put them in the crockpot on low for 6 hours with pasta sauce and they turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Amazing! Best meatball subs I have made. Subbed italian bread crumbs for the crackers and did not add salt. Used a slice of provolone instead of shredded cheese. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I'm a new member to Allrecipes and so far this is the #1 recipe I've made from here. It won't make a difference if you don't add the onions and green peppers. I used Ritz Crackers and boy did the meatballs taste great. I think I'll use Ritz when making meatloaf too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dookie007
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
These were surprisingly good! I found one recipe made about 15 meatballs. We used hoagie buns and put 3-4 balls per sandwich. I also cut the amount of green pepper in half, as they were getting a little "chunky". Also, we only used about 1/4 the amount of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
These are wonderful sandwiches! We designated them "Meatball Sliders". :) I followed the recipe as written and served them on A.R.'s French Bread Rolls to Die For. I flattened the meatballs a little, so they were almost like little patties so they'd fit nicely on the rolls without moving around too much. I used Hunt's Garlic & Herb spaghetti sauce. Yum! Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Rose Hills

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Oh my! The meatballs smelled so good while they were baking and when it was simmering in the spaghetti sauce - I was inhaling the aroma from my backyard! I made Buttery Pan Rolls (recipe also on this site) to use as the dinner rolls and added cheddar cheese along with the other cheeses. It was very delicious! Thanks for sharing matykada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Fine as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittanyG

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA
Living In: Dunn, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

Mini Philly Cheese Steak

See how to make tiny cheese steak appetizers.

Meatball Sandwich

See how to make a quick-and-easy meatball sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States