Mini Corncakes with Basil, Avocado Spread and Smoked Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I just made this recipe (as a trial run) for a Tapas dinner party we are going to this weekend. It is a very tasty recipe! I only used 1/2 of the Jalapeno but should have used the whole thing! I think cutting the salt in the Avocado spread (by the tiniest amount) might be better but my Avocados were on the small side so it may be perfect as written! 2 of us ate 80% of them as our entire meal! Had just planned to eat them as a sample but they were so YUMMY!! I only used 4 ounces of smoked Salmon (it was one package) Thanks for this recipe! I joined just so I could leave my review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Wow, these were delicious! I served them with a variety of toppings, and they were a huge hit! I found two minutes per side was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
5 stars because my husband LOVED this. I didn't have smoked salmon, but just pan fried some salmon with lemon juice and pepper (i'd bet it's even better with smoked salmon). the corn cakes are super easy and fun to make--like little pancakes--and the avocado spread is simple, with room to personalize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I cooked only the pancakes and served them with sourcream. Everyone loved them and I will definitely cook them again, especially because they are fast and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
These turned out fantastic! Made them for a BBQ and even my mom loved them, and she usually doesnt like unusual food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I enjoyed this, but I think that it could be improved on. Next time I think having another texture would be great - some finely chopped red onions or shallots would really set it off I think, and perhaps some rough ground pepper on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I loved these! The corn cakes were made the night before and kept OK in the fridge for easy assembly when needed the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This sounded so strange I had to give it a try. It was delicious! I cut down on the salt, but otherwise kept everything the same. It ended up being way quicker and easier then I orginally thought. Next time I might leave out the jalapeno... I thought it distracted from the taste of the corn and salmon a bit, but I did like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I was making salmon for dinner and was looking for a side dish. I came upon this recipe and it was delicious! I made the avocado spread with only one avocado because that's all I had on hand. The spread was fine with one one, but next time I'll reduce the amount of salt. We grilled salmon with a chile rub and used the avocado and corncakes as a side. It was perfect. We're looking forward to using this as an appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rswhite34
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
absolutely delicious and easier than it looks! I May have blended the corn mix too long initially so my mix actually needed a little corn meal or flour to get it to the right consistency, I certainly didn't need to add milk. It was one of my allrecipe favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States