Mini Cheesecake Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I rated this 4 stars because I couldn't make the actual recipe - my local grocery store did not sell the puff pastry! GREAT LOOKING DESSERT! Here are the changes I made . . . 1. I used phyllo dough (mini shells) for the crusts. They were already cooked so all I had to do was let them thaw - which only takes 10 minutes. I did, however, opt to crisp them in the oven following the package instructions. 2. You probably need to make twice the amount of filling, even if using the puff pastry! I did and it filled 15 mini phyllo shells with about 1/2 c left over. 3. I piped the filling into the shells - this is way better than using a spoon! 4. Decorated with fruit and drizzled with chocolate. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
The 3 grocery stores around me didn't have mini puff cups so I used phylo cups like other reviewers suggested. I piped my cream cheese mixture into the cups, and instead of of topping with fruit, I drizzled a raspberry glaze on it. Puree a 10oz bag of frozen raspberries that has been thawed. Run the puree through a strainer to get all the seeds out. Mix in 2 tbsp white sugar, and 2 tbsp orange liqueur (I used cointreau). I placed the creamcheese cups on a white serving dish and drizzled the red raspberry puree on the entire thing. Leave it in the fridge for an hour or two and let all the smells and flavors come together. I tried it after I first drizzled and it tasted sooo bland. But after an hour it was such a rich, cream cheesy, raspberry-y flavor. Everyone at the party LOVED them, they disappeared in ½ hr. Great recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
As per Jessica's recommendation, I used phyllo dough minishells, crisped in the oven and then cooled. They present SO beautifully -- people went crazy for them. Actually, people are more likely to enjoy one (or more :) ) mini bites where they would say 'no, I shouldn't' to a slice of a big hummer cheesecake. Fantastic!! Thanks for a big keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Made these for my daughter's bridal shower. What a hit. I used the mini phyllo dough shells (ready to go right out of the freezer). I put the cheesecake mixture into a sandwich bag and clipped one corner off and piped it into the shells. Then I put a single fresh raspberry and then melted dark chocolate in a sandwich bag, cut a very small tip off one corner and drizzled the chocolate over. Very easy, very elegant. A keeper for sure. Thanks for sharing. The sandwich bag trick is a BIG mess and time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ASPIRING RAE
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
These tasty treats were simple and delicious. You can use either Mini Puff Pastry Shells or Phyllo Cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASPIRING RAE
Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These came out very well! Added a tlb of Amaratta and a bit more cool whip :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cajun Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was so easy and so tasty. I used the phylo cups to. Took them for a wedding reception and they were gone in minutes. Was a great red, white and blue celebrations with a small slice of strawberry and a blueberry drizzled with chocolate! Jan :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I made these for a holiday party and everyone loved them! They were really yummy topped with fresh blackberiies. I did have to double the filling recipe though, because the first batch wasn't enough to fill all of the shells. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Made these for my husbands birthday today, cheesecake is his favorite but trying to cut down a little on calories so thought these might satisfy without breaking the bank, so to speak. Since these are small, once they're gone, they're gone. I used 8 oz. low fat cream cheese and 1/2 cup of low fat Cool Whip and also doubled other ingredients. I also added about a tablespoon of orange liqueur per another review...came out great, husband loves...I posted a pic, used the phyllo mini shells since I had on hand. I did taste the filling before adding the liqueur and was maybe just a little bland, and maybe that was because of the low fat ingredients, but that's why the 4 stars...will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zephyr Cove, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Okay...WOW! These were great. Like other reviewers, I used Phillo shells...very easy. Pop in the overn for 5 min to crisp, then fill and refridgerate. I diced strawberried and blackberries and topped each filling with each then drizzled with melted choc chips (melted in micro)...ridiculously fantastic. Used 2 boxs of the shells and doubled the recipe filling and it was the perfect amount...making again this week, cuz they went FAST and very easy to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Spirals

These tasty apple morsels are an elegant alternative to traditional pie.

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States