Mini Apple Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Reb
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Definite keeper!! Added a bit of brown sugar and vanilla. Stretched the recipe for 6 jumbo muffin cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I used the pie dough recipe from allrecipes.com - it is excellent - I bought the 6 inch ceramic pie plates from Hamilton Beach - then got this recipe - did not have tapioca so added 2 T. flour to thicken - thought it was very good -- would definitely make them again. Great if you are only 1 or 2 for dinner and want apple pie - not to much just enough with a little bit of vanilla ice cream --- YUM MO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Octavia. If you are using the squeeze type e on juice, just a little squirt. Approximately 1/4 tsp lemon juice. Have fun making them and Happy Thanksgiving Judi H
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisawas
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Mini apples are great because they take less time to cook and cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisawas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Delish! As stated by another reviewer, please don't rate a desert based on CALORIES. Obviously an experienced cook could certainly change this recipe to lower the sugar and fat content but then it wouldn't be this recipe...would it. Instead of criticizing a wonderful recipe, how about you post your own "diet" version. Be creative and share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Octavia, I think the only reason the recipe calls for lemon juice is to keep the apples from turning an unappealing brown. My standby recipe does not call for any lemon juice, so I can assume that you could get away by not using it. If you do want to use lemon juice, I would use maybe only a half teaspoon for this recipe. I have tried this both ways and delish both ways. I still use my standby recipe for family gatherings, but this recipe is good for in between when it's just my husband and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conklin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
These were so tasty! I made 2 changes to the recipe, though. I cut out the tapioca and added a crumb topping like on dutch apple pie. My husband loved them!!! No need for the tapioca in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Fun & Yummy! Thanks for sharing! BTW, those that are concerned about calorie counts should NOT be looking at a pie recipe...there's lard/shortening in crust! Why must people out there make snarky comments about recipes on this website that are not claiming to be "light" or "low fat"? If you're counting calories & fat grams you should know not to bother looking at certain recipes that are obviously not in that category. Modify it to fit your dietary needs or skip it altogether. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
It doesn't state how much lemon juice to add and I would like to try this recipe for Thanksgiving (I'm not an experienced cook so I wouldn't be able to even guess). SOMEONE PLEASE HELP. Thanks! (I'm going to give 1 star because I'm not rating this recipe and it's MAKING me rate in order to submit.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I would like to find a way to have less than 600 calories for one little pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pieā€”and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States