Minestrone Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very easy to make, but the flavors fall flat. Not what I am used to with Minestrone soup. I did add about 8 oz of pasta and some rosemary to flavor it up a bit. Maybe next time I will add some black pepper or red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rec_82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
really liked this one, it got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Loved the combination of ingredients, but not strongly flavored enough for me. Used diced tomatoes instead of stewed and added some frozen peas. Simmered in a 3.5 qt dutch oven for about 1.5 hours instead of a slow cooker. Nice texture! After tasting I used Lawry's seasoning salt, tons of black pepper, dried basil, parsley and more than doubled the amount of garlic powder. Ah! Much better for me! I'd give my tweaked stew a 5 star! I can see adding green beans and little shell pasta, and I'm thinking a second can of chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
this tasted more like taco soup than minestrone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Just okay. a little bland. I probably won't make this again. It was definately very easy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
We loved this. I used a can of petite-cut diced tomatoes in juice in place of the stewed tomatoes (can't eat the green peppers in stewed tomatoes). Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Super good, super easy. My (picky) boyfriend even liked this meal. Love being able to throw a bunch of stuff in the crock pot and walk away. Better than most beef/veggie soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This was okay, but nothing memorable. Quick to put in at lunchtime and ready at dinner after a hectic afternoon of activities. Might try Italian sausage instead of ground beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
We absolutely love this stew and have been requested to make it multiple times, particularly on family campouts. It works just fine in a dutch oven. One of our favorite dishes. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States