Minestrone Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very easy to make, but the flavors fall flat. Not what I am used to with Minestrone soup. I did add about 8 oz of pasta and some rosemary to flavor it up a bit. Maybe next time I will add some black pepper or red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rec_82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
really liked this one, it got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Loved the combination of ingredients, but not strongly flavored enough for me. Used diced tomatoes instead of stewed and added some frozen peas. Simmered in a 3.5 qt dutch oven for about 1.5 hours instead of a slow cooker. Nice texture! After tasting I used Lawry's seasoning salt, tons of black pepper, dried basil, parsley and more than doubled the amount of garlic powder. Ah! Much better for me! I'd give my tweaked stew a 5 star! I can see adding green beans and little shell pasta, and I'm thinking a second can of chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
this tasted more like taco soup than minestrone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Just okay. a little bland. I probably won't make this again. It was definately very easy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
We loved this. I used a can of petite-cut diced tomatoes in juice in place of the stewed tomatoes (can't eat the green peppers in stewed tomatoes). Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Super good, super easy. My (picky) boyfriend even liked this meal. Love being able to throw a bunch of stuff in the crock pot and walk away. Better than most beef/veggie soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This was okay, but nothing memorable. Quick to put in at lunchtime and ready at dinner after a hectic afternoon of activities. Might try Italian sausage instead of ground beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
We absolutely love this stew and have been requested to make it multiple times, particularly on family campouts. It works just fine in a dutch oven. One of our favorite dishes. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States