Minestrone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I followed this recipe to the letter and it was a disaster. There was way too much cabbage! It sucked up all of the broth and I ended up having to scramble and add water and tomato sauce and spices etc to make more broth. It ended up edible but not great. Next time I'll add the cabbage last along with the pasta and use twice as much stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
It does need more liquid but very extra good taste. I love to cook soup this is a winner just add liquid of your choice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This is an awesome recipe. I did substitute a few ingredients though, and added some extra items, along with the other ingredients. Instead of the cabbage, I added a small turnip,a small rutabegga, portion of leek, parsley, and dill, two cups of water along with the vegtable broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Excellent even though I used macaroni instead of orzo and I forgot to pick up a zucchini. Also I used canned corn instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Loved this! A rich & hearty soup that, as did many others, we tailored to our individual tastes and in accordance with what we had on hand. Omitted corn & cabbage; used a can black beans & a can great northern beans (drained & rinsed). Also, small shell pasta instead of the orzo. Also, a can of crushed tomatoes & a can of stewed tomatoes. The recipe does need far more broth or liquid than called for & it is more of a stew than a soup - which suited us just fine. We thought the seasoning of 2 T Italian Seasoning was perfect for our tastes. It does make a LOT ... and we are looking forward to the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is a tasty soup that is open to your creative side. Venture from the original with almost any kind of veggie drawer resident. I used elbow macaroni on my first round which really absorbed the liquid. Have fun with this, it will be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
The over all recipe was good but instead of 4 cups of vegetable broth I used 8. I didn't use cabbage as I'm not fond of that veggie I used spinach instead. I also cooked the soup quite a bit longer then the recipe states. I'm adding this and my substitutes to my regular recipes so we can have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Fenton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Can't give it 5 stars because I used what I had on hand and didn't follow the recipe as written. But it's a solid recipe, and my variation was delicious. I didn't have zucchini, potatoes, or corn. I used napa cabbage and elbow macaroni. I used more stock than the recipe called for to make it more of a soup, and I added a little olive oil at the start to saute the garlic, onions, celery, and carrots (that would make it less healthy - the addition of oil). I added about 1/4 cup red wine to the stock to make it a little heartier. My son gave it thumbs up, ate 3 bowls, and didn't notice there was no meat (yay!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I made the mistake of not reading the reviews before cooking this. It was nothing like minestrone and if I have to make huge alterations in order for it to be ver good, as most reviews did, then what's the point of a recipe? My husband will eat almost anything and loves leftovers--he actually tossed this one out and felt bad that I spent so much time on it when it wasn't worth the bother. This is not minestrone soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This was an OK meal for me. I would make it again and give it another chance but with some changes. Definitely more broth because like some other people have said it turns out to be more of a stew than soup. Kidney beans need to boil separately as they took forever to cook and ruined everything else like the pasta and potatoes as they overcooked. The pasta needs to be put in the very last 10 minutes of cooking because it became so mushy at the end. And I added garlic but I think the onion and garlic should be fried separately a little before putting in the stock and the rest of the vegetables. oh I also left out the cabbage and corn, it was too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States