Minestrone Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
This is a favorite in our household--we've tried lots of other minestrone recipes before, but none as delicious as this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
I tried this and it is marvelous! I am making it again today and instead of bacon I am using ham and turkey carcasses I saved in the freezer. I boil them (for at least 2hours slowly) and they make a rich broth from which to make this soup. Thanks Ms Satler for your recipe ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I am about to make this soup again. I just decided to post a review and rating of this recipe because I thought it was a great and easy soup that anyone can prepare and serve with confidence. I really enjoyed making it and thought it made a really easy and enjoyable home cooked soup. Try it if you haven't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Please be aware: to make this soup properly it is a lot of work! I used a inner ham bone for stock, and then added the can of Beef stock. It is delicious, but I suggest somewhat more italian herbs, because it was kind of flat. Make sure you buy fresh parmesan cheese, not the prefab stuff. It makes a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I made the soup exactly as written. The flavor s absolutely wonderful and it's chock full of goodies! However, it does make quite a large quantity. I went through two crock pots, finally putting everything in my largest stock pot, before I found something that would contain all of the ingredients. Unless you've got a stock pot, as opposed to a standard dutch oven, the quantity as written might create a headache. Tasty, but a headache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Pretty good! I, however, had to alter the recipe just slightly. 6 slices of bacon, 1 cup of cooked ground beef, 4 carrots, 4 stalks of celery, 1/2 onion, 2 zucchinis, 1 (10.5 oz) can of diced tomatoes, 1 can (10.5 oz) of water, 2 cans chicken broth, 1 package of onion soup, and 2 tbsp of savoury seasoning! Simmered for an hour and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
This recipe makes a lot of soup! I used a 6 1/2 quart stock pot, and it was almost to the rim. If you choose this recipe be sure to fry the bacon, brown the hamburger, and chop the veggies ahead of time, so you can throw it all together before dinner. Otherwise you will be watching this pot for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Awesome!! My uncle and aunt, who are both 80, said it was the best minestrone soup they ever had!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
My husband and stepdaughter are SO picky and they LOVE this soup. And it is even more flavorful after it sits in the pot for a couple of days! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Very good Soup. Easy to make, can be modified to your taste, and it's great on a cold evening. It has a lot of flavor. I added extra vegetables as suggested. I have passed this recipe on to several other people and can recommend it to anyone that likes Minestrone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States