Minestrone Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe It is also great for using as a reference as far as seasonings are concerned for messing around with and creating your own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is a great base recipe that is very versatile. I made several changes based on what I had on hand, and it was delicious! I needed to use up a 48 0z container of tomato juice, so that was most of my soup base, along with 1 can of whole tomatoes in puree (crushed), about 2 cups of water with beef soup base, and more like 1/2C red wine. I just had a farm club delivery with zucchini and kale, so I used those with celery, carrots, and lots of fresh thyme, oregano, basil and parsley, and a bay leaf. I used some bacon lardons and kept the bacon fat in and used about 4 oz. of ground turkey. I used kidney beans. I cooked small shell pasta separately about half way through, and just add some of that to each bowl. Topped with some pecorino romano, this is a thick, hearty, nutrtitious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
delicious! i loved this recipe because it is tasty, makes a full soup pot, and is so flexible you can throw in just about anything. i used marinara sauce instead of the puree, diced tomatoes with green chiles, no bacon, ground turkey, radishes, doubled the onions and the zucchini. simple and a great way to clean out the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel.castlen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I did a little improvising as to what I had on hand, but omitted the ground beef, as that would be vegatable beef soup. I did add some wine, not the onion soup, and used red kidney beans instead of garbanzo's (it's what I had). You could add more veggies, but this is a pretty spot on recipe. Makes enough for 2 adults and 4 teenage boys! This will be my go to recipe for Minestrone, without the beef stock (I used au jous) and bacon, it wouldn't have this wonderful depth of flavor! It can't miss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I enjoy soup for dinner,so when i saw this recipe and I had all the ingredients tried it. I left out the puree added 1 can of toms. 1 box of beef broth and pureed some roasted red peppers in the blender and it still is great.Oh I also used frozen meatballs instead of gr. beef and leftover cooked pasta . Still really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reseda, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I loved it, she tastes wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hazel Eyed Dragon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I made this soup for my family, and they all loved it. I will definately make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I was skeptical... but took a chance and wow! it's a winner. My husband loved it as did I. The only change I made was to use stew meat instead of ground beef. Now it's a weekly dinner with a basket of multi-grain bread from the bakery, and a glass of red wine. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisa soderstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
A "recipe" for minestrone would really be impossible to create, since there is no right or wrong in how one prepares it. It is simply a thick soup of mixed vegetables and pasta, sometimes with meat, most often not. Any kind of beans, pasta or vegetables are fine - it's merely a matter of what's in your garden, fridge, or what you like. Today I made my own stock with soup bones and meaty beef shanks, so I didn't use any ground beef. I used small seashell pasta, tomato sauce I had put up myself, and Swiss Chard from my garden - as well as the other vegetables called for in this recipe, of course! I also added fresh garlic to the vegetables. The canned French onion soup, granted, was an unconventional and unusual addition, but you know what? It was good! What this MUST have (unless you're weird like my husband and hate it) is a good sprinkle of freshly grated Parmesan or Romano. It's just not the same without. Good road map for minestrone, Ann Satler! That's a difficult one to put down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Shem was just "meh" but I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States