Minestrone Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
THIS IS A GREAT BASIC FOR MINESTRONE SOUP, BUT WE LIKE LOTS MORE CABBAGE, ONION, MACARONI, AND I USE LEFT OVER PINTO BEANS INSTEAD OF CANNED BEANS. I ALWAYS KEEP A FREEZER CONTAINER IN THE FREEZER SO THAT WHEN WE HAVE DABS OF CORN, SQUASH, GREEN BEANS, OR OTHER VEGGIES LEFT OVER I JUST KEEP ADDING TO THE CONTAINER AND THEN THAW THIS AND ADD TO MY MINESTRONE SOUP AND IT COMES OUT GREAT. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Perfect recipe 'as is.' You could substitute kidney or pinto beans for cannellini; you could sub other vegies for the ones listed. The two things I do differently are: a) use fresh tomatoes and b) boil the pasta separately, rinse and drain in the pot before starting the soup (why dirty an extra pot?), so it isn't cloudy and starchy. I also use the rinds of parmesan cheese blocks, chopping them up in small pieces and throwing them into the broth for added flavor. You could fish them out, but they're edible and add texture if they haven't dissolved. Why waste?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Excellent. Flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! I made this the other night and couldn't get enough. I love that it's so loaded with veggies and other good thing, you don't miss the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I have never made soup in my life! This turned out really good. I did change it some though. I added extra celery and carrots. Used one tablespoon of Olive oil instead of butter. A whole small can of tomato paste (only because I read it wrong, lol). Added extra garlic and salt. Added pepper and dried basil. Used fat free broth and added a packet of dry boullion too (sodium free). I put the cheese in the pot with the soup instead of the bowls...(next time I will try it before adding the cheese). I also added a pound of cubed stew meat. Turned out awesome and my boyfriend loved it as well. I counted all the calories and it was approx 255 per cup of soup. Not putting cheese in the soup and useing whole wheat pasta would lighten the calorie load.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Totally the BEST minestrone!! it's DELICIOUS. i use kidney beans. my husband loves it!!! thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Best ever!!!!! Used chicken anduilli sausage which was great. One of my fav's now...thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
No need to look any further for a yummy minestrone soup recipe. I made as directed except for cooking time when adding elbow noodles. They were done after 15 minutes of simmering. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I made this recipe and admittedly tweaked it quite a lot. However, I do think I came up with something very similar to the submitter’s version. I used olive oil instead of margarine and only one T. not four. I increased the celery to a generous 1/2 cup and bumped the carrots up to about 3/4 cup. I thought the amount of cabbage was negligible, and I didn’t have it anyway, so I left that out. I used diced tomatoes with garlic and olive oil, and instead of potatoes, I used a combination of zucchini and yellow squash. Lastly I subbed ditalini pasta for the elbows. As for the process, I tweaked that a bit as well. I sautéed the onion, celery and carrots for about 5 minutes, adding the garlic during the final 30 seconds. I then added the other ingredients, except for the beans and pasta. I gently simmered for 30 minutes, which was probably a bit too long. I would cut that back to 10-15 minutes next time, so the zucchini won’t be overcooked. I cooked my pasta separately and added it along with the beans and some fresh basil and just heated it through. Garnished with fresh parsley. My result was a delicious, veggie-packed soup that was low in fat and calories, but very satisfying!! We loved it!! UPDATE 3/26/13: I made this again as before but this time threw in some coarsely chopped fresh spinach at the very end, which was a very nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Very tasty soup. I like the fact that it wasn't overpowered with Italian seasonings like some minestrone recipes are. Just simple and delicious. The only changes I made were that I used fresh parsley in place of the dried, and spiral pasta instead of the elbow. Very healthy too! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States