Minestrone Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Very nice, my vegetarian MIL loved it. I used vegetable stock instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Yummy hearty soup on a cold winter night! Even my little kids enjoyed it! I added chopped green beans, much more salt garlic, black pepper basil and oregano....it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Very good minestrone. I particularly liked it because it is simple and there is not an overload of seasoning. I did change some things 1. I added green beans and zucchini 2. I added to extra cups of water and bullion 3. I added dried basil Next time I make this recipe, I will cut the macaroni in half and add more beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole Raffaele
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I used this recipe as a guide, being that I didn't quite have everything on hand. I shredded leftover Thanksgiving turkey and added it to the soup. I used beef bouillon cubes and water in lieu of the chicken broth. I subbed garlic chili sauce and medium taco sauce for the tomato paste. I used black beans, corn, carrots, parsnips, celery, diced tomatoes, onions, red potatoes, and added some extra spices, such as a bay leaf and some adobo. This made an excellent spicier version of minestrone. I served this with a side of fresh baked cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Raffaele

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilroy, California, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was wonderful. I did change the recipe just based on what I needed to use up & to fit our family. I added fresh, chopped green beans, more cabbage, a whole med onion, 3/4 cup of whole wheat macaroni and omitted the cheese. I ended up using more garlic, doubled the tomatoes, and used water and bouillon (2 ckn bouillon and 1 beef) instead of stock. It came out great and the recipe is a wonderful base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Troxel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I made this soup tonight and it turned out great. Delicious!!! Perfect meal for a cold fall night. Hearty and flavorful. Served with some warm french bread. Thanks so much for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Great recipe! Some changes for preference/items on hand: I didn't have an onion so I added extra carrots/celery (ground up in food processor) and added some frozen cubes of bacon (lardon) while sauteeing. I doubled the tomatoes (used coarse ground instead of stewed) and didn't add cabbage b/c I didn't have any (boo!). Since I had doubled the tomatoes, I added about a cup of water w/ a bouillon cube and doubled the pasta too. In effect, this doubled the recipe. The bacon added a fabulous smokiness and the bits of potatoes, pasta and veggies were perfect- not too chunky. Can't wait to eat again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Very very tasty. Other than using whole wheat pasta, I didn't change a thing! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
So delicious. I also substituted frozen chopped spinach for the cabbage - perfect! Thanks for a great Minestrone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
So easy and delicious! My first time making minestrone and I loved this recipe. I omitted the cheese and had it with a teaspoon of sour cream instead. It was perfect. I also added one teaspoon each of oregano and basil and a pinch of red pepper flakes and ancho chilli pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States