Minestrone Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Very very tasty. Other than using whole wheat pasta, I didn't change a thing! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
So delicious. I also substituted frozen chopped spinach for the cabbage - perfect! Thanks for a great Minestrone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
So easy and delicious! My first time making minestrone and I loved this recipe. I omitted the cheese and had it with a teaspoon of sour cream instead. It was perfect. I also added one teaspoon each of oregano and basil and a pinch of red pepper flakes and ancho chilli pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I used seashell pasta because I had a half a box leftover from another meal. I cooked it separately from the soup and let people add as much or as little as they wanted to avoid the pasta soaking up all the broth. I used diced tomatoes instead of stewed. I also used an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce instead of the tomato paste. I used fresh white beans from a friends garden, added a few green beans and about a handful of baby spinach I had in my fridge that needed using. As for seasonings, I added a pinch of dried oregano, 2 tablespoons fresh parsley and about 1 tablespoon fresh basil. Really tasty meal, great accompaniment for the chilly weather outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
The only variations I made to this soup were: no cabbage used, 3 fresh tomatoes chopped, 1 large zuchini chopped, 1 cup macaroni, 3 1/2 cups potatoes, and fresh parsley.... YUM! My husband is a chef very well known for his soups and he said that this was fantastic. The parm really added a ton of flavor so I would definately recommend using it. So easy and delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
So flavorful! So glad I added 3 TBS of tomato paste, it created the PERFECT consistency. I only used 2TBS of margarine. Great Northern White Beans. 3-4TBS of fresh parsley. Made my own stewed tomatoes. Added 1 chicken breast seasoned with Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I've tried a number of minestrone recipes from Allrecipes and this one struck me as slightly odd. I think the beans left a sweet after taste that was unexpected and not desired. I can't quite figure it out, but if you like a slightly sweet after taste, go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy926

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
THIS IS A GREAT BASIC FOR MINESTRONE SOUP, BUT WE LIKE LOTS MORE CABBAGE, ONION, MACARONI, AND I USE LEFT OVER PINTO BEANS INSTEAD OF CANNED BEANS. I ALWAYS KEEP A FREEZER CONTAINER IN THE FREEZER SO THAT WHEN WE HAVE DABS OF CORN, SQUASH, GREEN BEANS, OR OTHER VEGGIES LEFT OVER I JUST KEEP ADDING TO THE CONTAINER AND THEN THAW THIS AND ADD TO MY MINESTRONE SOUP AND IT COMES OUT GREAT. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Perfect recipe 'as is.' You could substitute kidney or pinto beans for cannellini; you could sub other vegies for the ones listed. The two things I do differently are: a) use fresh tomatoes and b) boil the pasta separately, rinse and drain in the pot before starting the soup (why dirty an extra pot?), so it isn't cloudy and starchy. I also use the rinds of parmesan cheese blocks, chopping them up in small pieces and throwing them into the broth for added flavor. You could fish them out, but they're edible and add texture if they haven't dissolved. Why waste?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States