Minestrone Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
We all love this (not an easy task with four young children!) I make a couple changes, using spinach instead of cabbage most of the time (though the cabbage is also wonderful), vegetable broth instead of chicken and using gluten-free noodles. If you get the timing right you can't even tell they're GF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This is a great soup and very easy to make. The only change I made was add some oregano and basil. Had a lot left over for another meal for me and my husband, so I froze the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLIZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I used water instead of oil, no butter, more salt (3 tsp), 1/2 teaspoon of white pepper, 1 tsp creole seasoning. A can of green beans, cauliflower, broccoli, asparagus, basically anything that was in the kitchen that needed to be used up. Always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Good, tasty soup. We used red potatoes since they are SO GOOD. We'll make it again for sure. I don't know if margarine is somehow better than butter or olive oil for this one... but as a rule i don't allow the stuff in my kitchen. I mean it's vegetable oil that has been chemically altered to stay solid... no thanks. Anyhow, if you care about trans fats I used butter and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
YUMMY!! I've made this for my parents twice. It gets better each time I've made it. When I added the pasta (which ever kind I had on-hand) I ended up having to add roughly one to two cups of broth. I skipped the cabbage just because I don't care for it. After it had been simmering about 30 minutes I added: 1 tbs chopped oregano 1 tsp garlic salt 1 tsp chopped thyme 2 tsp chopped basil It was absolutely delicious, and SO easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I made this for a party and it was a big hit. I skipped the potatoes and upped the other veggies in its place. My only other change was making and serving the pasta on the side because some of my guests have wheat/gluten allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MathScem

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for and it was a hit with my family! I made only a couple of minor changes: used olive oil instead of butter to saute veggies, low-salt vegetable broth (to make it 100% vegetarian), added 1/2 cup sliced mushrooms, used ditalini (small, tubular) pasta instead of elbows, used chopped tomatoes with Italian seasoning and 2 heaping tablespoons of tomato paste. Served with a green salad and crusty bread - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is good soup. I omitted the margarine and added crumbled bacon and italian sausage, cooking the onion, celery and carrots in the bacon drippings. Then, when I added the other veggies, I also added a small chopped zucchini. This will make it more of a main dish and not just a light starter. MMM, good;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria29

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
YUM!! I followed this recipe almost exactly as written.I didn't add potatoe and added a can of green beans. It was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States