Minestrone Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
YUMMY!! I've made this for my parents twice. It gets better each time I've made it. When I added the pasta (which ever kind I had on-hand) I ended up having to add roughly one to two cups of broth. I skipped the cabbage just because I don't care for it. After it had been simmering about 30 minutes I added: 1 tbs chopped oregano 1 tsp garlic salt 1 tsp chopped thyme 2 tsp chopped basil It was absolutely delicious, and SO easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I made this for a party and it was a big hit. I skipped the potatoes and upped the other veggies in its place. My only other change was making and serving the pasta on the side because some of my guests have wheat/gluten allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MathScem

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for and it was a hit with my family! I made only a couple of minor changes: used olive oil instead of butter to saute veggies, low-salt vegetable broth (to make it 100% vegetarian), added 1/2 cup sliced mushrooms, used ditalini (small, tubular) pasta instead of elbows, used chopped tomatoes with Italian seasoning and 2 heaping tablespoons of tomato paste. Served with a green salad and crusty bread - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is good soup. I omitted the margarine and added crumbled bacon and italian sausage, cooking the onion, celery and carrots in the bacon drippings. Then, when I added the other veggies, I also added a small chopped zucchini. This will make it more of a main dish and not just a light starter. MMM, good;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria29

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
YUM!! I followed this recipe almost exactly as written.I didn't add potatoe and added a can of green beans. It was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Very nice, my vegetarian MIL loved it. I used vegetable stock instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Yummy hearty soup on a cold winter night! Even my little kids enjoyed it! I added chopped green beans, much more salt garlic, black pepper basil and oregano....it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Very good minestrone. I particularly liked it because it is simple and there is not an overload of seasoning. I did change some things 1. I added green beans and zucchini 2. I added to extra cups of water and bullion 3. I added dried basil Next time I make this recipe, I will cut the macaroni in half and add more beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I used this recipe as a guide, being that I didn't quite have everything on hand. I shredded leftover Thanksgiving turkey and added it to the soup. I used beef bouillon cubes and water in lieu of the chicken broth. I subbed garlic chili sauce and medium taco sauce for the tomato paste. I used black beans, corn, carrots, parsnips, celery, diced tomatoes, onions, red potatoes, and added some extra spices, such as a bay leaf and some adobo. This made an excellent spicier version of minestrone. I served this with a side of fresh baked cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilroy, California, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was wonderful. I did change the recipe just based on what I needed to use up & to fit our family. I added fresh, chopped green beans, more cabbage, a whole med onion, 3/4 cup of whole wheat macaroni and omitted the cheese. I ended up using more garlic, doubled the tomatoes, and used water and bouillon (2 ckn bouillon and 1 beef) instead of stock. It came out great and the recipe is a wonderful base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States