Minestrone Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is good soup. I omitted the margarine and added crumbled bacon and italian sausage, cooking the onion, celery and carrots in the bacon drippings. Then, when I added the other veggies, I also added a small chopped zucchini. This will make it more of a main dish and not just a light starter. MMM, good;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria29

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
YUM!! I followed this recipe almost exactly as written.I didn't add potatoe and added a can of green beans. It was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Very nice, my vegetarian MIL loved it. I used vegetable stock instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Yummy hearty soup on a cold winter night! Even my little kids enjoyed it! I added chopped green beans, much more salt garlic, black pepper basil and oregano....it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Very good minestrone. I particularly liked it because it is simple and there is not an overload of seasoning. I did change some things 1. I added green beans and zucchini 2. I added to extra cups of water and bullion 3. I added dried basil Next time I make this recipe, I will cut the macaroni in half and add more beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I used this recipe as a guide, being that I didn't quite have everything on hand. I shredded leftover Thanksgiving turkey and added it to the soup. I used beef bouillon cubes and water in lieu of the chicken broth. I subbed garlic chili sauce and medium taco sauce for the tomato paste. I used black beans, corn, carrots, parsnips, celery, diced tomatoes, onions, red potatoes, and added some extra spices, such as a bay leaf and some adobo. This made an excellent spicier version of minestrone. I served this with a side of fresh baked cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilroy, California, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was wonderful. I did change the recipe just based on what I needed to use up & to fit our family. I added fresh, chopped green beans, more cabbage, a whole med onion, 3/4 cup of whole wheat macaroni and omitted the cheese. I ended up using more garlic, doubled the tomatoes, and used water and bouillon (2 ckn bouillon and 1 beef) instead of stock. It came out great and the recipe is a wonderful base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I made this soup tonight and it turned out great. Delicious!!! Perfect meal for a cold fall night. Hearty and flavorful. Served with some warm french bread. Thanks so much for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Great recipe! Some changes for preference/items on hand: I didn't have an onion so I added extra carrots/celery (ground up in food processor) and added some frozen cubes of bacon (lardon) while sauteeing. I doubled the tomatoes (used coarse ground instead of stewed) and didn't add cabbage b/c I didn't have any (boo!). Since I had doubled the tomatoes, I added about a cup of water w/ a bouillon cube and doubled the pasta too. In effect, this doubled the recipe. The bacon added a fabulous smokiness and the bits of potatoes, pasta and veggies were perfect- not too chunky. Can't wait to eat again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Very very tasty. Other than using whole wheat pasta, I didn't change a thing! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States