Minestrone Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I make a pot of this soup every week, since it's become my favorite soup! I've made some changes since I first started making it, which I think has made a great recipe even better. I use olive oil instead of butter, and I add in zucchini, chopped spinach and extra celery. I also add some Italian seasoning, pepper, and a few tablespoons of bouillon, which gives the broth a richer flavor. I also add a couple of cups of water, or another small box of broth to make more soup. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Yummy, hearty and easy to make. Just substituted "No Chicken Broth" by Imagine and followed the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I loved this recipe. Added a can of kidney beans. Will definitely be making it again during the long winter. Going to add kale next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AndrewB
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Truly easy to fix. We like the recipe as is, but the other suggestions and variations look equally wonderful to try. Easy and quick preparation. I'll report back later as to taste. Oh, we used orzo instead of macaroni. Also, broccoli slaw instead of cabbage. Doubled the recipe and it worked just fine. Also substituted condensed chicken base instead of prepared stock. Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I took out the cabbage and added 1/2 lb of sweet sausage. Used a tomato paste with garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Love this recipe. Added chick peas. Used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth and added tortellini instead of regular pasta. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adriana Carpio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This is the best soup ever, and very easy to make. I'd never made minestrone before, but this recipe is my new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anita Louise McKennon-Paxton
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I made this today, and it's very good! I made it as written (other than using garbanzo rather than white, and it's a 4.5 star! Later I added some crushed red pepper flakes, basil, oregano, zucchini, and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Louise McKennon-Paxton

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Really great. First time, I followed the recipe exactly and it came out good but missing something. I've experimented a few times and found a good couple of changes. First, I don't add salt (we need a reduced sodium diet in our home). I also add about a tablespoon of black pepper and garlic powder. Finally, while melting the butter at the start I add the first clove of minced garlic and saute it with the carrots, celery and onion so that its flavor can be added as a base. This has become a treat for everyone when I make it. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Yum yum yum! Made lots of changes per others reviews. Baby spinach instead of cabbage dash of tobasco, green beans kidney beans egg noodles cooked separate fresh parsley fresh oregano and basil homemade chicken stock will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Lynn Porter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States