Mincemeat Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This makes a TON of filling and I used it to make mini pies. It freezes well too and I used it two years in a row now...really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lithium3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I hate all those recipes that claim to be genuine mincemeat yet don't even have any real meat in them, which is the key ingredient. Thanks so much for this wonderful tradition recipe, so much better than the canned stuff in grocery stores!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Couldn't find sorghum up north here but used black strap molasses. Fantastic. My husband couldn't put whipping cream on something with meat. He had it for breakfast! Don't use the white membrane of the orange, just the meat and maybe the zest of the peel. The white part is bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made this filling for my dad who missed having mincemeat pie on Thanksgiving! The flavor was wonderful, and it was a very easy recipe. I am told that the pie is better a few days later. This may be a great make- ahead pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I made this pie for my father-in-law. I guess I did something wrong, but I followed the directions exactly...the recipe never states to cook the filling or reduce the liquid before baking. My pie had so much liquid in it we were forced to drain it. I drained almost 2 cups of liquid. The flavor I am told is great, but I would suggest reducing the mixture to a thicker consistancy on the stove , then baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
The ingredients looked not so good, but this has to be the best pie recipe I have ever made. I made it for our family's Thanksgiving dinner and everyone was very surprised that it actually had beef in it. Everyone went back for seconds! Excellent recipe and I will be making this for Christmas too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Growing up we made and canned our own mincemeat. We never put orange peal. Just apples, nuts and ground meat and spices. We use to make pies and turnovers. I have been trying to find a good recipes for some time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnaja54

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Moffat, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I think maybe I did something wrong. Everything was great except for the orange pieces. They had a distinct bad taste after cooking the pie. Otherwise, very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
My Father loves mincemeat pie. But he says it's very hard to find the "real" thing. Lots of "slop-in-a-jar" products out there. No good. I made a pie with this filling recipe. He LOVED it. He said this recipe is the true and authentic thing. I am very grateful for it and will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIMCRAFT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
As a former hater of MinceMeat, this recipe has great flavor and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Filling

Whip up a batch when you have a lot of apples and store the filling in the freeze

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States