Mincemeat Crumb Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This was wonderful! Our family enjoyed it more than pie. We make our own homemade mincemeat filling from our home grown apples......it was delicious! Will make many times again and share with family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
OMG!!!! I just made this following the instructions precisely!! I NEVER WANT MINCE PIE AGAIN These are incredible tasting, give the same satisfaction as mince pie, so much easier, and actually preferred by those who like the mince spicy tasty without eating large portions of mince filling such as you get with pies! Oh..thank you for giving me something easy and delicious to bake, particularly this year when I cannot do my usual heavy duty holiday baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Just tried my first square- still warm from the oven, sans icing- topped with a dollop of Mediterranean style plain yogurt- wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This was a easy to make and delicious. Im not a fan of mincemeat but I have a few jars and thought I'd make something for the older people in the family. I loved it. Didn't put icing on because it is real sweet with the brown sugar. Added nutmeg, cinnamon and ginger. Lemon juice. Very easy, and everyone is going to love it. I have a great picture but it's too hard to put on here from my iPad. Don't know why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I halved the recipe and made it in an 8 x 8 pyrex and it still turned out so good. I did not add any zest to my mincemeat because I liked it just the way it was. I also did the icing and it was just right for me. Maybe it depends on the sweetness of the mincemeat you are using as to whether or not you should use the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Wonderful!! I did do a slight "goof" - I wasn't paying attention and forgot to bake the crust first, before putting the mincemeat in (I used a large jar and added walnuts as well!). Fortunately - I just doubled the bake time - and with my oven - it came out perfect!!! Will make again!!!!!!!! Oh - also - didn't use the frosting at all - but would have been nice - had with vanilla ice cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I used a whole jar of good quality mincemeat (750ml) and the zest from a whole orange (as another reviewer suggested) otherwise everything else stayed the same. These are delicious!! So much easier than tarts. I would also line the pan with parchment or something to make getting out of the pan easier and easier cleanup afterward. Excellent recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These are my new favorite Christmas cookie!!! I have been looking for a simplified mincemeat pie recipe since I attended a semester of college in London---the refectory at my school had mini-mincemeat pies every day for the entire month of December....and I NEVER tired of them! These bars come close in flavor, without all the hassle of making your own mincemeat, or bothering with a crust. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used an entire (27-oz) jar of mincemeat, and just zested a whole orange instead of measuring. Thank you so much for this recipe--it will definitely be a tradition in my family from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by photojenny25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Delicious! I added cinnamon, ginger, and two cups of finely chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I used more mincemeat (homemade venison mincemeat) than the recipe called for, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States