Mincemeat Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I don't like mincemeat - but made these cookies for my Dad, who loves it. Turns out the entire family loves them & they've become part of our Christmas Cookie Collection. Recipe makes approx 10 doz. I usually frost only half, as other reviewers have noted, they taste good with or without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoyBugaloo
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I made homemade mincemeat (with NO meat--just fresh and dried fruits, spices, and booze) to make a pie, but that only used half the batch. So I decided to try this recipe and take the cookies to a holiday swap. I followed the directions for the most part, though I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the dough, and also swapped out vanilla for the rum extract in the frosting, as the mincemeat was plenty boozy. The cookies are tender and cakey, and the frosting is very tasty. My only criticism was that I boiled the frosting for about seven minutes, but the finished product was grainy like a soft praline. Using a regular cookie scoop, I got exactly 70 cookies. That should be plenty for the cookie swap tomorrow, but I think I will call them fruitcake cookies, as "mincemeat" might scare people. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyBugaloo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Talent, Oregon, USA
Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
These are great cookies. I added 3 tablespoons of brandy to the mincemeat for a better flavor. Didn't use the frosting which I thought would be to over powering. I used 2 cups powdered sugar, 1 tablespoon brandy, 3 tablespoons milk or cream enough to make a glaze. Sprinkle with a little chopped pecans if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I never made a mincemeat cookie before and it came out great. I followed the recipe exactly the way you wrote it. I had planned to make the frosting, but when my husband tasted the plain cookie - he asked me to leave it without the frosting. He said it tasted exactly like his grandmother used to make Mincemeat Christmas Cookies (she was a great baker!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chancelund

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knowlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I have tried this recipe and loved it! However I did not use the frosting that was called for in this recipe as it was too sweet, instead I used a rum glaze with the pecan on top and everyone who had tasted this cookie, absolutely loved it. It will definitely be added to my Holiday cookie recipes that I will be making soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I've never heard of mincemeat cookies before but I love mincemeat pie and thought I'd give these a try, so I can have something new in my repertoire for the holidays coming up. These are very good and so different than the usual thing! I didn't try the frosting- they seemed sweet enough without it, but I will with the next batch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Loved this cookie. I wanted to make something different and this was it. Not too sweet and I really think that being able to freeze them is really nice. My husband likes to have three or four kinds of cookies in the freezer so all he has to do is thaw and enjoy. This cookis is good not only for Christmas but all year long. I will make again. I followed the recipe as written and had complete success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Reminds me of a recipe my mother used to make. Store in an air-tight container - they get better as they age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
these were amazing, everyone loved them, even people who had never had mincemeat before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sek_gillis
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
a very good cookie. i used a mincemeat that was brandy and rum flavored and it only added a hint to the cookies. very good and i will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sek_gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States