Minced Beef with Black-Eyed Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I agree with many of the other reviewers that the ingredient need to be increase especially the spices. What i find a little strange is that the spices are added to the meat and water when in fact in Indian cooking spices a fried briefly to release their flavours. I therefore added them to the onions just before adding the meat which i also fried briefly. All in all this is a simple, quick and tasty meal. I served it with a little Basmati Rice, Naan bread, Lettuce with a spoon of Raita on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
We need to develop a better name for this recipe because the current title doesn't do it justice. For someone like myself who likes spices (yes, I also increased the amount of spices used) and wants to increase protein intake, this is a wonderful dish. The cumin, the heat of the chili powder and chilies, and the aroma of the garam masala really blend and flavor the beef well. The only reason I didn't give the recipe 5 stars is because this is essentially a bowl of beef. As Asma suggested, warm up some pita bread, make the raita (fyi: for those unfamiliar with Middle Eastern cooking, she means plain yogurt - not vanilla!), etc. I purposely double the dish, so that I can take any leftovers for lunch where I serve the meat on top of lettuce, additional tomatoes and a light vinaigrette (sometimes just additional lemon juice, but usually a bit of oil and vinegar.) Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I made this with ground beef. I'm giving it three stars because, made as written, I would think this would be an incredibly bland dish. I added the seasonings to personal taste, and it turned out great. Served over basmati rice. Thanks, Asma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
I make this wonderful dish each time I have leftover roast beef. In fact, I purposely make to much roast so that we can have this dish! The only way I deviate from this recipe, is to double the ingredients, otherwise, I follow the directions to a “T.” Substitutions and deletions just aren’t right. I serve it atop boiled jasmine rice and my sides are Asma’s choice, warm pitas, raita, and finely sliced onions laced with lemon juice. This dish is F A N T A S T I C!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by By the Lake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Alabama, USA
Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This was pretty good. I didn't put any meat in it, subbed dried cilantro and used anaheim pepper. However, I sauteed the pepper, onion and garlic together, then added the tomato, beans and spices (including the garam masala). Then I stirred in 3/4 cup of white basmati rice, 1 1/2 cups water, brought to a boil, then simmered everything covered for 20 minutes, adding the lemon juice at the end. It was really easy, and pretty good. I'm sure it's good with the beef too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Very easy and something new. My family loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
good! I didn't put any meat in it. Served it with Kicken Collard greeens from this site, corn bread and country pork ribs braised in rosemary and white wine... real good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I loved this recipe! I couldn't find garam marsala at my grocery store, so I made it without it, but it was still great. And super easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
This was absolutely delicious. It tasted even better than it smelled whilst cooking! I've even made it with turkey mince to great results. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This is good, i used lean ground beef and 1 clove minced garlic. i omitted the cilantro and chopped pepper. Served over rice. Thanks Asma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States