Mimi's Tomato Soup Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
LOVED this recipe!! For years, I've heard people talk about "tomato soup cake" and, I'll admit, curiosity got the better of me so I just HAD to make it!!! This tasted just like a spice cake and was SUPER delicious!!! I will definitely make this again! Maybe cupcakes sometime, too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I cut this recipe in half so I could make muffins for a outing I had planned for today. Instead of shortening, I used half melted butter and half homemade organic applesauce. I used whole wheat white flour instead of AP flour. I had a feeling that this might need a little more liquid than it called for--I ended up adding an egg and a quarter cup buttermilk. These turned out quite well--though way too heavy on the cloves. I've made tomato soup cake before so it's a favorite of mine (and almost anyone else who knows me) and the smell of this recipe while baking? Wow! I really don't notice the tomatoey taste but again, I've made tomato soup cake before. It's no different than any other spice cake, really. It's just got a twang that really makes you say "That's different!" Great way to use up tomato soup! Just watch the amount of cloves you use. A sprinkle is plenty. NOTE: I got 12 muffins out of a half recipe. 350 for 20 minutes was the perfect baking time for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This cake has a nice texture, and I really liked the spices, but be warned, if you have sensitive taste buds, you WILL taste the tomato soup. To me, it had a strong aftertaste and the tomato-y taste did not complement the other flavors very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Really good. No tomato taste at all. I took it to work and it was quite popular. A little dry, considering the amount of butter and soup and water, but that's not a big deal. The raisins help. I will be making this again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
very good texture was moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Funny, My husband could hardly wait for me to make this cake. He said his great grandmother used to make it all the time. It is one of his favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Surprisingly wonderful! Tomato soup is an odd item for a cake ingredient, in fact, I didn't tell anyone until after they raved about it. I substituted milk for the water and used yogurt covered raisins (didn't have plain)- they added an extra little sweetness to it. I also glazed it, using the same spices, with confectioners sugar, adding flavored coffee as the liquid. I would suggest using a 12 cup bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I found this cake to be quite dry. Followed the recipe a given but seems to need more liquid. I was surprised that there were no eggs in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
very heavy cake. Not hard to tell it is a depression era recipe. I liked the spices to give it some other taste other than tomato soup. I like it, but my husband refuses to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
Baked this cake yesterday and it really was very good. Moist and flavoursome and quite economical. This is certainly one I will make again and again as my husband says it is his sort of cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States