Mimi's Slumgullion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made this last night and it was a big hit with me, husband and son. Son does not like onions or peppers but he loved this. I also added two stalks of celery chopped, 4 roma tomatoes chopped and a bunch of garlic granules. Will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I liked this one-pot meal combining several of my favorite foods. I steamed the carrots & potatoes separately (in the mwo) for a few minutes, then sautéed the meat and onions before adding them. I added the bell peppers last, as I like them with some crunch. I cut the pieces into a large dice like hash & served with sunny side up eggs on top & Sriracha biscuits on the side. Very satisfying & will be making it again - maybe with different meats and adding mushrooms & cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
i turned this into a crock pot dish added Jalapenos and more spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Maize

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Loved this! I did change a couple things. First, I used bacon fat I save when I cook bacon , so had it on hand. Lightly fried the potatoes sliced in the bacon fat. Took potatoes out and set aside; then fried the kielbasa a bit, then added the peppers, onion, 2 cloves of garlic. Cook 5 mins. Then return the potatoes to the pepper onion kielbasa combination; cook until the potatoes are tender. I added 4 good shakes of Louisiana hot sauce. Turn off heat and let the flavored meld! Wonderful w/ rice, or w/ eggs, or as a taco or burrito! Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Didn't have peppers, but added chopped mustard spinach from the garden and a drizzle and garlic wine vinegar. Tastes great for a quick weeknight dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This recipe is easy to put together and turned out delicious. I had yellow potatoes, that have soft skins, so I did not peel the potatoes. Because the dish is covered for most of the cooking time, the potatoes will get soft, and not crispy. They worked well in this dish. I served 'KISS: Keep it Simple (Brussels) Sprouts' from AR, homemade applesauce and bread sticks with this meal. This meal would work well to prep ahead and cook later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I love this recipe! We've made this three or four times, and it always comes out fantastic. I always serve this with a perfectly fried egg. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I really like this dish. The potatoes get cooked really nicely with almost a crisp outside. I really like the combo of the potatoes and peppers with the meat. And I usually use turkey kielbasa instead of the beer. I have made this a couple of times and it's a hit with my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
added large clove garlic and touch of minced ginger while onions were cooking sliced the potatoes instead of cubes added a couple tablespoons of maple syrup loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Art Goldsmith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
The only change I made was less oil and multi colored peppers. I used 4 tablespoons of olive oil and I believe I could have used less. Both my husband and I loved it. So flavorful!! I served buttered cabbage with it. Yum!! A definite make-again and again dish! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spring Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States