Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Taking some advice from reviewers and working with what I had on hand I added 1/2 c oats (since I only had 2 bananas), reduced the cinnamon to 1/2 tbs, added 1/4 tsp nutmeg, replaced the applesauce with plain yogurt, and replaced the veg oil with applesauce. I also made sure to mash the strawberries. These were SO INCREDIBLY AMAZING. The texture was perfect, lighter than I expected and they were amazingly moist. The kept their moisture extremely well and if they hadn't been such a hit with the finace and rommates I'm sure they would've stayed that way regardless of where I kept them for at least a week. Throwing texture aside the taste of these was enough to make me a fan for life. (Although for those avoiding sugar I could see reducing the sugar just a tad-they'd still be fantastical) Delicious, filling, healthy, and quick to make!...what more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I use this recipe so often to make banana bread. I omit the strawberries and replace the oil with an additional 1/4 c of applesauce. I also add a tsp of allspice and 1/2 tsp of salt. I bake each loaf for 50 minutes. Even the traditional high fat banana bread lovers in my family say this bread is delicious. My dad told me last night that I make some darn good banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaityCait

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Wow, how delightfully different and healthy! These make a great breakfast. I used canola oil (healthier fats) and substituted half a cup of the flour with 1/2 cup of wheat germ to up the fiber content. Very moist and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I thought this recipe was fantastic! Thanks Mimi! I usually have a hard time w/making baked goods, but these were easy and they came out great!! The only thing I did different was add blueberries instead of strawberries, and I used 2 large bananas instead of 3. I did read the other reviews, and I dont understand why there was any negative ones--but a tip for future bakers would be to make sure they FOLD the bananas around the dry ingredients. Dont stir the batter, but if you do, definitely dont stir too much--that makes the muffins hard sometimes. Good luck and I hope everyone else enjoyes these muffins as much as I did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
Fabulous! The best whole grain muffin I've tried. The first time I made them, I used fresh strawberries, but they pretty much disintegrated in the baking process--still tasted great. The second time, I used blueberries instead of the strawberries and they held up much better and were just as delicious! They freeze well. I take one out before bed and it's ready the next morning for breakfast on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
I cut the vegetable oil down to 2 tablespoons, and used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and large bananas. My muffins were very moist and delicious, not too sweet. I also used fresh strawberries, and they worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
These was really good in flavor but sadly i could not give it 5 stars because the frozen strawberries basicly disapeared while cooking :( I followed everything to the letter and it did not rise at all the parts without berries in it was very dense and was really hopin for a light fluffy muffin. not to mention the holes from where the berries was not happy but will try it again with fresh berries an hope for the best beacause i loved the flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I was looking for a healthy muffin recipe and ran across this one. I decided to do a little experimenting to make it even healthier by leaving out the sugar, adding another banana, wheat germ and replacing half of the wheat flour with oat flour. I'm happy to say that I was very pleased with the results. I can only imagine how good they would be with the sugar. Thanks Mimi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
I had fun making these. Used mixed berry applesauce, and a little less sugar. I used frozen whole strawberries, and chopped them in the food processor. I should have chopped them a little more though, because some of the pieces were too big and were mushy and gooey in the muffins. Pretty good muffins, but not ones I'll be rushing to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Loved this recipe. I used olive oil instead of vegetable and also made regular size muffins. They were fabulous and the kiddos loved them. Next time I think I will use fresh strawberries though, because the frozen were very tart. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States