Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Very delicious and easy to make. Subbed 1/2 c. low-fat sour cream for the applesauce and 1/4 c. applesauce for the oil, used two bananas and increased the strawberries to 2 cups, diced, reduced the cinnamon to a 1/2 T and added the 1/4 t. nutmeg as per other reviews. Will definitely make again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This is my first attempt at homemade muffins & so I followed the recipe exactly.....however I did cook 5 extra minutes b/c mine didn't spring back up after 20. Very easy to make though! After reading reviews, I was worried that the strawberries would be soggy but that wasn't the case for me...instead, I could barely see or taste strawberries in mine at all. I may try cutting larger slices next time! Very moist though. Will make again though for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Very very good! Doubled the recipe and made 2 loaves. I should have taken the extra time and made into muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Yummy! My batter was really runny though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
These are pretty good. I made them a little extra healthy by using agave & molasses in place of brown sugar and topped them with sliced almonds. They are tasty but probably not as sweet as the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prolly Pauli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
These were pretty good. I made them as written except I used vanilla Greek yogurt instead of applesauce because that is what I had on hand and I added 1/4 tsp of salt. They were very moist. They could use a little more flavor. I also had some issues with the strawberries making them soggy in places. I think I will try leaving out the strawberries and adding another banana and maybe some nutmeg or allspice and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
My girls made these after school today and really enjoy them. They followed the recipe exactly. I did do the slicing of the frozen strawberries though. Smelled so good while baking and very moist when done. My kids loved them and I really liked the fact that they are healthier then most muffins, whole wheat flour, applesauce, a small amount of oil and the fruits. Great muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
These turned out super!! I used butter because I was out of applesauce, half/half white and whole wheat flour, canola oil, and half the cinnamon. I chopped up fresh strawberries and I had enough batter for 24 mini muffins and 10 large ones. They came out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wed4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
these muffins are not sweet at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States