Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by sleaupepe
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This recipe is delicious! I followed what the person below suggested and it turned out great! I will have easy fast breakfast for a while now! Just pick one up and go! Yummyyy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
i wanted to only give these 3 stars because i really didn't enjoy the 'spice' taste of them but realized that was kind of silly as i knew the ingredients going in; i'm more of a sweet flavor lover. anyway, my neighbor thought they were great and that you could taste the strawberries and bananas (i didn't think so). but they were moist, the 2 cups of fresh diced strawberries held up, the muffins rose nicely and they were filling. i think i enjoyed them more warm out of the oven. only used 2 bananas, added the 1/2 cup of oats and only used on tsp of cinnamon as others suggested. used a 6 oz. cup of lite vanilla flavored yogurt instead of oil since i'd never tried that before. overall, a success. a piece of advice: if you accidentally break your eggs in the bowl before mashing the bananas, don't think you can just mash them in the egg. doesn't work that well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
8/11- Added 1/2 c. ground flax,1 t. cinnamon, slightly less sugar, chopped the strawberries and added to flour mix. Made 20 muffins. Baked 17 min dark, 20 min regular. They stuck to liners a bit, so next time I'll spray. Delicious, healthy muffins. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Not as good as I had hoped it would be. I love strawberry and banana combos but I didn't enjoy these. The strawberries were mushy,maybe because they were partially thawed.I'll probably use a homemade strawberry syrup next time and leave out the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy671

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Definitely taste best with adding an extra cup of strawberries and mashing them with the bananas. Also add a cup of oatmeal. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I love strawberries and so does my husband, so I made them especially for him. They were terrific - he actually ate them all in no time flat. Very flavorful, moist, great mix of strawberry banana flavor. These were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Awesome. subbed oil with applsauce, and applesauce with yogurt, added 1/2 c oats, 1 tsp allspice, 1/2 cup walnuts, 1/2 cup raisins, 1 whole greenish banana chopped, no strawberries, incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Another great healthy muffin! Ran out of coconut oil & I had no applesauce on hand - so based on other reviews I substituted canola oil for the vegetable (read up on good & bad fats - canola oil beats veg oil), and substituted yogurt for applesauce. Used around 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour instead of the 2 cups. Then I used about 1/4 cup wheat germ and approx 1/3 cup oats (I added extra banana & strawberry so my measurements were not exact bc I added more flour/oats/wheat germ as I saw fit to thicken). I also pureed my bananas and frozen strawberries, reduced cinnamon to 1/2 tbs and added 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Next time will try with 1/4 cup ground flaxseed and maybe blueberries. Used my trusty crushed almond/flour/salt/brown sugar topping. Moist and good flavor. Really loving the strawberry-banana-yogurt combo. Not sure I'll even bother trying it with applesauce. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley c.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
They are delicious!! I love them so much :) I subbed out all but 1tbsp of oil for nonfat strawberry yogurt and they turned out big and moist and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
These were so wonderful. My husband loves them for work. I add a cup of oats just to make them a bit more filling. I make these all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjennamichele

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States