Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Not as good as I had hoped it would be. I love strawberry and banana combos but I didn't enjoy these. The strawberries were mushy,maybe because they were partially thawed.I'll probably use a homemade strawberry syrup next time and leave out the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Definitely taste best with adding an extra cup of strawberries and mashing them with the bananas. Also add a cup of oatmeal. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I love strawberries and so does my husband, so I made them especially for him. They were terrific - he actually ate them all in no time flat. Very flavorful, moist, great mix of strawberry banana flavor. These were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Awesome. subbed oil with applsauce, and applesauce with yogurt, added 1/2 c oats, 1 tsp allspice, 1/2 cup walnuts, 1/2 cup raisins, 1 whole greenish banana chopped, no strawberries, incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Another great healthy muffin! Ran out of coconut oil & I had no applesauce on hand - so based on other reviews I substituted canola oil for the vegetable (read up on good & bad fats - canola oil beats veg oil), and substituted yogurt for applesauce. Used around 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour instead of the 2 cups. Then I used about 1/4 cup wheat germ and approx 1/3 cup oats (I added extra banana & strawberry so my measurements were not exact bc I added more flour/oats/wheat germ as I saw fit to thicken). I also pureed my bananas and frozen strawberries, reduced cinnamon to 1/2 tbs and added 1/4 tsp nutmeg. Next time will try with 1/4 cup ground flaxseed and maybe blueberries. Used my trusty crushed almond/flour/salt/brown sugar topping. Moist and good flavor. Really loving the strawberry-banana-yogurt combo. Not sure I'll even bother trying it with applesauce. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley c.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
They are delicious!! I love them so much :) I subbed out all but 1tbsp of oil for nonfat strawberry yogurt and they turned out big and moist and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
These were so wonderful. My husband loves them for work. I add a cup of oats just to make them a bit more filling. I make these all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjennamichele

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
My kids love these muffins. I do not make them giant - I get 2 dozen regular sized muffins. Put them in an ziplock and into the freezer. I also subbed yogurt for applesauce and added an extra pinch of baking soda. Regarding not being moist-try adding a little extra fruit. Thanks for a great healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Tasted ok the first day. They definitely tasted 'healthy' and the strawberry flavor was not at all detectable. But on the second day, they were dry and hard to eat. I stored them airtight too. Ended up being a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Thanks for a great healthy recipe! Seriously they smell as good as they taste. I didn't have strawberries so I used the black berries and raspberries that I had on hand and needed to use up. I also made a crumble topping with an instant low sodium reduced fat brown sugar oatmeal packet and a little butter, I just mashed it together with a fork and put it on the tops of the muffins while baking. The whole house smelled amazing and they really turned out light fluffy moist and fantastic! The kids literally were crowding around the oven waiting for a muffin! What a great breakfast or snack. The second time I tried blueberries that also went over very well, and I used the same method for topping with whole grain oats and butter crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States