Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I made this recipe today, had no frozen strawberries but used frozen blueberries. Muffins came out delicious and will definitely make again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Delicious! I made a double batch and made a few changes: 1/2 whole wheat flour, 1/2 white flour (so they wouldn't be too dense); I substituted flax seed for half of the oil and used coconut sugar in place of the brown sugar. I also took the advice of other reviewers and chopped the frozen strawberries in my food processor first. Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I made this gluten free by omitting the wheat flour, substituting Gluten Free All Purpose flour AND arrowroot as a binding agent...can use xanthum gum as well... I substituted coconut sugar for the brown sugar. Instead of oil I substituted pureed zucchini muffins look different when cooking gluten free but are delicious all the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmktanner
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I was nervous about the strawberries but eat these up warm & they are delicious! I did change a few things. My changes are noted below for my reference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessicadarling
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
These were amazing! Whole family loved them! Now, as much as I hate to admit I did change two things..used cake flour..and added more applesauce instead of oil. I'm 100 sure that these would be just as fantastic with the whole wheat flour. Thanks!yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sherri
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
These are great muffins!! My kids loved them as well as other reviewers I subbed some of the flour for flax seed flour also added more berries. The first time I used blueberries and the second time I used mixed berries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is a good base, but I think it requires some personalizing to make it great. I will make these again, no doubt. Next time with a lot less cinnamon, more vanilla, and blueberries instead of strawberries. To each their own; the possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
These were very good and my two boys really liked them, too! Any healthier options that they will actually eat are much appreciated! I only had 2 bananas so added a little more applesauce and threw in some oats as another reviewer suggested and I thought they were very tasty. Will plan to try with blueberries when I have no frozen strawberries as I'm sure that would be really tasty, too--thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I was impressed by how delicious these muffins were! I am usually annoyed by recipes that use applesauce to replace oil, but this recipe has some oil and it actually tastes better with the applesauce (I tried replacing half of the applesauce with oil and it wasn't as good). I usually double the strawberries, but one time I didn't have enough strawberries to double so I added in blueberries and it was just as good :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I loved the texture of these muffins but 1 Tbsp of cinnamon is WAY too much. Next time I'll half the amount and then I'm sure they'll be perfect. I didn't have strawberries so I used frozen blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindee Greivel Myers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States