Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
These were very good and moist. I looked at some of the suggestions and wanted to keep it low calorie so I replaced the applesauce with yogurt, replace the vegetable oil with applesauce, used two bananas, mashed frozen strawberries and drained excess liquid, and used only 1 teaspoon cinnamon and added 1/4 teaspoon nutmug. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I loved the base recipe but I made a FEW modifications and they were fabulous! I only used 1 very ripe banana, 2 tsp baking powder instead of soda, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/3 cup white sugar and 1/3 cup whole milk. They were moist, tasty and plenty sweet! I also used fresh, diced strawberries....YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Yum! I used frozen blueberries instead and added 1T of gluten flour to lighten up the batter a bit. Kids and I loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Superb! I included 1/2cup oat as well. Mistakenly measured oil for 1/2cup, didn't use apple sauce at all, but used 1/4cup sour cream instead. Lightly mashed strawberries, and only used 1/2cup brown sugar. The result is DELIGHTFUL! Also picked up the best tip given by one of the reviewers: to only fold, not 'vigourously' stir. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATATWORK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Just made this recipe! Delish! I halved the cinnamon as recommended by other reviewers and I used fresh strawberries, since they are in season! I’d recommend making this recipe and subbing peaches and raspberries for the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Great recipe. Not too sweet and I love that it is made with whole wheat flour and applesauce. I did not modify the recipe at all and they baked perfectly. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I made this as written, with two exceptions. I cut the cinnamon in half and used regular size muffin pans. Even with halving the cinnamon, it still overpowered both the banana and strawberry flavors, IMO. Also, I think the submitter means to use standard size muffins cups, rather than minis. I assumed “large” meant the jumbo cups. Using a standard muffin pan this produced 12 nice size muffins. They did rise and dome beautifully. If I were to make these again, I would cut the cinnamon back even further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I like the recipe, but I am still looking for the perfect one. They have a mild strawberry banana taste, slightly sweet, moist...but they didn't have the crisp outside I like in a muffin and I think maybe needed a pinch of salt and less cinnamon. The fruit flavor would probably be stronger without the whole wheat but I like it because of the whole wheat. The strawberries do leave holes, but I diced them instead of slicing for smaller pieces. I wonder if this would work better as an apple muffin:keep the cinnamon and add diced apple, which holds together better. And maybe just a smidgen of white sugar for a little crispness on the outside...and a pinch of salt in the batter. Also, I did not have giant muffin cups and was surprised to see this filled my 12 regular muffin cups exactly ??? They baked up without spilling over. It took 15 minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I thought these were delicious. I followed the directions exactly. My husband said that he expected there to be a stronger banana flavor. I thought that the strawberries in it were really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This is my first review! And its because this is the first recipe from this site that I have made numerous times, numerous ways and they ALWAYS come out good. Below Ive outlined my most recent attempt which was the best batch ive ever made. Keep in mind, i eat these for breakfast and do not like them overly sweet, so the bananas plus strawberries in the batter provide enough sugar for my taste. Also, without any oil these are certainly not as moist as regular muffins. But if you have any familiarity with no-fat baking, you may be amazed at how nice the textures is. MY CHANGES - 1 egg/1 egg white, all applesauce instead of oil, omitted sugar entirely, 1 cup white whole wheat flour/1 cup oat flour, loads of spices including cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger (1 T each), and 1.5 cups fresh strawberries. The result was a perfectly sweet, light, super hearty muffin! I had 2 for breakfast this morning and they were even better after resting overnight. One sortof "duh" suggestion: dont pour this batter into cupcake liners! Or, should i say, dont do it if you omit fat entirely because they will stick and you will lose half the muffin every time you unwrap one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States