Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Yummy! My batter was really runny though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
These are pretty good. I made them a little extra healthy by using agave & molasses in place of brown sugar and topped them with sliced almonds. They are tasty but probably not as sweet as the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prolly Pauli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
These were pretty good. I made them as written except I used vanilla Greek yogurt instead of applesauce because that is what I had on hand and I added 1/4 tsp of salt. They were very moist. They could use a little more flavor. I also had some issues with the strawberries making them soggy in places. I think I will try leaving out the strawberries and adding another banana and maybe some nutmeg or allspice and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
My girls made these after school today and really enjoy them. They followed the recipe exactly. I did do the slicing of the frozen strawberries though. Smelled so good while baking and very moist when done. My kids loved them and I really liked the fact that they are healthier then most muffins, whole wheat flour, applesauce, a small amount of oil and the fruits. Great muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
These turned out super!! I used butter because I was out of applesauce, half/half white and whole wheat flour, canola oil, and half the cinnamon. I chopped up fresh strawberries and I had enough batter for 24 mini muffins and 10 large ones. They came out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wed4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
these muffins are not sweet at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
The only changes I made was to use a standard size muffin tin (the recipe yielded 16 muffins and they were done in 20 minutes- I used a dark nonstick pan at 350 degrees), halve the amount of cinnamon, and use fresh chopped strawberries instead of frozen. I thought the muffins turned out great! Very moist, not too sweet, and a healthy alternative to cookies for my youngest to share in the church nursery tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Made with blueberries instead - SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
These were very good and moist. I looked at some of the suggestions and wanted to keep it low calorie so I replaced the applesauce with yogurt, replace the vegetable oil with applesauce, used two bananas, mashed frozen strawberries and drained excess liquid, and used only 1 teaspoon cinnamon and added 1/4 teaspoon nutmug. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I loved the base recipe but I made a FEW modifications and they were fabulous! I only used 1 very ripe banana, 2 tsp baking powder instead of soda, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/3 cup white sugar and 1/3 cup whole milk. They were moist, tasty and plenty sweet! I also used fresh, diced strawberries....YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States