Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I followed Ashleyco's advice and added yogurt instead of applesauce and oats, and cut the cinnamon in half and added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg, and I also added canned pumpkin instead of the oil and used egg whites instead of eggs. This came out AMAZING! This is definitely my new go-to muffin recipe. Although I'm not sure I would say they're "giant" since they didn't rise very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rlorway
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Read the reviews and made some changes of my own: only had 2 bananas, so put in some extra applesauce; used 1 cup whole wheat flour + 1 cup oats (after putting them in the food processor a bit); cut back on cinnamon, and used fresh strawberries cut up nice and small. They were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very good. Added a few extra strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Added coconut!! Love this recipe! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Very good and moist. I took other suggestions and used 1/2 cup of Kefir for the applesauce and 1/4 cup of applesauce for the oil. I also used only 1/2 cup of brown sugar splenda blend. For the 2 cups of flour I used 1.5 cups of flour and 1/2 cup of wheat germ/oats. I did not have strawberries so I did 1 batch with fresh raspberries and 1 batch with fresh peaches. They do stick to the paper liners a bit even with some cooking spray. They may do better just being made in greased muffin tin without liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
These are soooo good. I didnt have any whole wheat flour so just used self rising flour and I sub'd more applesauce for the oil. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Good muffins! Used 2 bananas, 1/2 cup sugar, and fresh strawberries. Will be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I made this recipe today, had no frozen strawberries but used frozen blueberries. Muffins came out delicious and will definitely make again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Delicious! I made a double batch and made a few changes: 1/2 whole wheat flour, 1/2 white flour (so they wouldn't be too dense); I substituted flax seed for half of the oil and used coconut sugar in place of the brown sugar. I also took the advice of other reviewers and chopped the frozen strawberries in my food processor first. Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I made this gluten free by omitting the wheat flour, substituting Gluten Free All Purpose flour AND arrowroot as a binding agent...can use xanthum gum as well... I substituted coconut sugar for the brown sugar. Instead of oil I substituted pureed zucchini muffins look different when cooking gluten free but are delicious all the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States