Mimi's Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Great recipe. I substituted a finely chopped fresh apple for the applesauce and whole wheat pastry flour. I also added 1/2 tsp of salt. Didn't have the strawberries but even without them, ths is by far my favorite banana muffin recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I used baby food, half apples and half sweet potatoes in place of applesauce and bananas (4 small jars) instead of mashed bananas. I also used frozen mixed berries since I didn't have strawberries. I agree, use less cinnamon. Otherwise delicious and moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Too wet and too heavy I think it would be better with less or no wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lois Coleman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I followed Ashleyco's advice and added yogurt instead of applesauce and oats, and cut the cinnamon in half and added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg, and I also added canned pumpkin instead of the oil and used egg whites instead of eggs. This came out AMAZING! This is definitely my new go-to muffin recipe. Although I'm not sure I would say they're "giant" since they didn't rise very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rlorway
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Read the reviews and made some changes of my own: only had 2 bananas, so put in some extra applesauce; used 1 cup whole wheat flour + 1 cup oats (after putting them in the food processor a bit); cut back on cinnamon, and used fresh strawberries cut up nice and small. They were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Very good. Added a few extra strawberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Added coconut!! Love this recipe! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Very good and moist. I took other suggestions and used 1/2 cup of Kefir for the applesauce and 1/4 cup of applesauce for the oil. I also used only 1/2 cup of brown sugar splenda blend. For the 2 cups of flour I used 1.5 cups of flour and 1/2 cup of wheat germ/oats. I did not have strawberries so I did 1 batch with fresh raspberries and 1 batch with fresh peaches. They do stick to the paper liners a bit even with some cooking spray. They may do better just being made in greased muffin tin without liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
These are soooo good. I didnt have any whole wheat flour so just used self rising flour and I sub'd more applesauce for the oil. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Good muffins! Used 2 bananas, 1/2 cup sugar, and fresh strawberries. Will be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States