Millionaire's Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Really good recipe! I will agree that it's not overpoweringly sweet, more of a creamy and light flavor, definitely great for summer! I brought this to an office christmas party. To spice it up a little, I turned it into a rum cake. I made the cake from scratch rather than a boxed mix. I used fresh pineapple instead of canned. And to make the juice to go in the cake, I mixed some rum with pineapple juice and poured that over the cake, added some cherries to fill the gaps in between the pineapple rings, topped as directed, then decorated with dyed coconut flakes. Office loved it! I think I'll add more rum next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I was very disappointed with this cake. It had very little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I love this recipe, I have used it more then 5 times for special occasions and I'm getting ready to make it again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lionqueenmelissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Why not usea Jiffy Yellow Cake mix. You do not have to discard 1/2 of mix. I too have made this cake for years and have always used Jiffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is very good using lighter ingredients. You won't even miss them, honestly. You can now purchase sugar free cake mix and also use reduced fat or fat free cream cheese/whipped topping/milk. This is really good with either pecans or toasted coconut on the top as well. NOTE: You can also make the cake part from scratch, too. There are a few from this site that are good replacements for cake mix, if you don't have one on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Very tasty and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather Prescott
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Excellent recipe. I wish I had followed it to the "T" tho - I tweaked it a tad going by what I thought would make it better for me. Added a little extra batter (not too much) and only had a 20oz can on pineapple and didnt spread all of the pudding mix. It was very good, everyone loved it but I definitely feel this cake wouldve been even better had I followed everything exactly. Cause there was a bit too much cake and whipped topping and not enough pineapple or pie filling. It was so nice though to find a great dessert for people who love sweets but arent big on chocolate. Because this recipe takes the "cake" if thats what youre looking for. May top it with some toasted coconut next time for an added kick cause altho I love love nuts they just didnt seem to fit well with this. And, as one reader said, it was even tastier the next day. So next time I may let it set for at least half a day. EDIT: I added a pic of a piece - please be kind as this was the very last piece that was left and I had to try and make it look edible. Also note how big the cake layer is - I def. think all the layers should come out about equal in height for the most delicious result ie...my cake layer was too big but as I mentioned earlier I added a bit more than half - I made cupcakes out of the leftover batter - should have enuf batter for 12 cc 3/4 full - I only had enuf for 9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Prescott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I made this cake last Sunday for dessert. Everyone said it was "good". On Monday evening I noticed my husband with a bowl of cake and he said, "wow, this is even better today". Tuesday morning I woke up to find an empty cake dish on the counter. When I asked about it I was told that he couldn't quit eating it and woke up in the middle of the night and finished it with the help of my daughter who met him at the refrigerator. I am told that I have to make this one again. I gave it 4 stars because the first day it was a little too runny. Needs to set up over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was a really good doctored cake mix recipe. I made 2 9 inch cakes. I omitted the walnuts. I used the drained pineapple juice as water in my cake mix for added flavor. It was a huge hit at my husband's birthday. Very light and fluffy. Worth a try if you like easy, cake mix type desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Great cake! So yummy. I made this cake on a cold January day, and the cake made me feel like I was on a sunny, warm, beach somewhere. I changed the cake up by using pineapple cake mix instead of yellow cake mix. I also used coconut creme pudding mix instead of vanilla pudding mix. Also, the recipes calls for only half the cake batter to be used. I really agree with this. Don't use all the cake batter, because I think it would take away from the flavor of the cake. Soooo good! I can't stop eating it. I was going to take it to work to share with everyone, but I think this one is staying with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOSTERKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eagle Pass, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States