Million Dollar Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I made this fudge last year and then again this year. It is really good, and even my stepdad who has eaten old fashioned homemade fudge loves it. I noticed that some people have had trouble with it not setting up. I have never had that problem with any of the 4 batches I have made. You have to make sure you dissolve the sugar over low head BEFORE you begin to boil it for 6 min. The dissolving stage may take some time, I think it took me about 20 min today. Use your finger to touch some of the mixture on a spoon to test for grainyness. If you feel grains, continue stirring to dissolve. Also, someone said you need 12tablespoons of butter, that is not true at all. I would think adding more butter would make it take longer to set up. It takes about 2.5-3 hours to set up. I put it in the refrigerator to set up, then it stays hard at room temperature. Also, a hint for measuring the 2 cups of marshmallow creme, just use a 7oz jar. It's about 2 cups. That will save you from the sticky mess. Hope this helps a little for those who had poor luck with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Awesome! I used a candy themometer and let it reach soft ball before removing from heat; which took just over eight minutes after starting to bubble lightly. Any temp less than soft ball stage, will result in a mushier end result. Also, never scrape the sides of the pot or it will have grainy chunks in the fudge. Also, I put in a 11x13 pan and it was just the right size!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
quick, easy, and was gobble up in a flash. So much easier than the boiling w/candy thermometer, watching for soft ball stage, cooling and beating in vanilla and butter. The kids (young and old) just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
For the last 3 years, I've been a fudge pariah. Either it wouldn't set up or it didn't taste very good. I tried the recipe with the highest rating and it just tasted like chocolate chips. This recipe was quick and easy to make, and as soon as I started dumping it into the pan, I could tell it was going to set up just perfectly. Licked the spatula and lo and behold, it even tastes good! Nice, creamy texture, and a very good taste. I will keep looking for that perfect fudge I remember from childhood, but for now, this one is my favorite recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Wow....too easy!! My first try ever making fudge, and turned out soooo good! I cut up, and added 6 Snickers candy bars, rather than the nuts. This was a complete crowd pleaser...THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe; it makes a very creamy fudge. I used a 9 x 13 pan. I also used the same recipe for peanut butter fudge by substituting one bag of peanut butter chips and one cup of peanut butter for all of the chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Great fudge, but mine is quite stuck to the pan. Next time I think I will use parchment or wax paper to line the pan rather than just butter. Any thoughts on how to get my stuck-on fudge out of teh pan succesfully?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
Excellent recipe. Very creamy. Not boiling the chocolate with the milk and sugar makes all the difference. So easy to make. Hasn't failed me yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This fudge is so much creamier and better than anything you can buy at a candy shop. Best fudge I've had in years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
So easy, so creamy, so yummy! BUT...It gets mushy too easy. Did I do something wrong??? Must be eaten straight from the fridge or it is a big pile of chocolate MUSH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States