Million Dollar Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
it's very tasty, however, it's too soft, even if you refrigerate it for hours, it would feel hard on top but i couldn't even pick it up, we ate it by fork, again,it is very tasty but way too soft.. any advice on what to do? may be i should have greased the pan more, but the softness? I followed the exact recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Over all this recipe was super easy for some one with NO candy experience at all. The texture of the fudge is almost perfect, I just did'nt get the glossiness, it didn't really pour into the pan, I sort of had to push it out, almost like a very soft dough. But it is still delicious. Next time I will use something other than semi-sweet chips, I never liked their flavor and the fudge tastes mainly like them. 5 stars for a well built easy to follow base recipe, less 1 for flavor, could be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustinaKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Great fudge, and practically dummy proof! I made it once as written, and once with peanut butter instead of walnuts. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was really good fudge, very creamy. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This recipe is a keeper!!! This is the first time I've made fudge and it turned out great! I only used 4 cups of sugar, to cut down on the sweetness. It is pretty sweet, but isn't that how fudge is supposed to be? Some people said that it turned out gritty (sugar didn't dissolve). It needs to be cooked slowly UNTIL the sugar dissolves, then brought to a boil before pouring into the chocolate mixture. I kept taste testing it until the sugar was dissolved. One suggestion I have would be to spoon out the marshmellow cream in small amounts to separate it. That would help it melt faster. The chocolate melted very fast for me, but I had to stir and smash the marshmallow cream against the side of the bowl to get it too melt. This fudge is excellent, and I might try it next time with a dark unsweetened chocolate in place of the German. I think you can play around with different types of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This fudge turned out amazing! For my first attempt at fudge I was very impressed! I made sure to completely dissolve the sugar, and there was no graininess whatsoever in the final product. It was extremely smooth and creamy. I think as far as lumpiness goes, make sure the marshmallow creme is from a new jar and isn't old... cause stiff marshmallow doesn't melt so easy and could create lumps. The only thing I changed was that I didn't add nuts. And I threw some rainbow sprinkles on it to make it a little prettier. I love this recipe and am looking forward to making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirltalia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lindon, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Might be me and not the recipe, but I had a really hard time with it. I did the evaporated milk/sugar/salt/butter cook twice. The first time I was using a large broad pot. It took half an hour to start boiling. I saw another reviewer had written that you should get it to soft ball stage on your thermometer if you have one to make sure it doesn't come out mushy. Well, an hour later it still wasn't at soft ball and it wasn't looking too good. It was scorched in places and lumpy and I knew it couldn't be right. So I didn't pour it over the stuff in the bowl. I decided to try again. This time I used a smaller pot. But it was taking even longer to boil. After 38 minutes, I turned the heat to medium even though other reviewers say again and again not to do this. I was exasperated though and needed to get on with my life. It boiled after a few minutes, but once again, it was taking forever to get to soft ball stage. Since the original recipe just says to cook it 6 minutes and it was starting to seem like it was scorching, I decided to pull it off the heat at 220 degrees, about 10 minutes after it started boiling. The flavor is very good and it is creamy, not grainy, but it's mushy. Maybe I should have held out for the soft ball stage. A lot of people have had very good luck with this so it's probably my stove, which is a relic from the early 70s, that isn't giving reliable heat or something. I'm thinking I won't try this one again. I have other fudge recipes that give me r
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
My husband loves this fudge. I didn't use nuts because I don't personally like nuts, but in retrospect I should have because I am giving some to my co-workers and the nuts would have given the fudge a nice texture. It's very rich and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
First batch was grainy. But I made a major mistake! I used sweetened condensed milk rather than evaporated milk. For those of you experienced cooks, this must seem ridiculous. But for me, the cans look the same and were in the same area of the grocery store. So - before I threw in the towel, I bought EVAPORATED milk and tried again (I didn't use the German chocolate for the second batch as it was so expensive - next time I will!). This batch is creamy and delicious, and the recipe really is easy. I will make again! Don't give up! Check your ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Amazing and creamy. I cooked it for 8 minutes (starting from the point where it was at a hard boil. For those of you finding it grainy, you probably aren't cooking it over the low heat for long enough. It needs to be cooked over low heat for a good 20 minutes before you bring it up to a boil. I stirred constantly throughout boiling and the sugar dissolving. It was quite a bit of work, but the end result is spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States