Million Dollar Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Might be me and not the recipe, but I had a really hard time with it. I did the evaporated milk/sugar/salt/butter cook twice. The first time I was using a large broad pot. It took half an hour to start boiling. I saw another reviewer had written that you should get it to soft ball stage on your thermometer if you have one to make sure it doesn't come out mushy. Well, an hour later it still wasn't at soft ball and it wasn't looking too good. It was scorched in places and lumpy and I knew it couldn't be right. So I didn't pour it over the stuff in the bowl. I decided to try again. This time I used a smaller pot. But it was taking even longer to boil. After 38 minutes, I turned the heat to medium even though other reviewers say again and again not to do this. I was exasperated though and needed to get on with my life. It boiled after a few minutes, but once again, it was taking forever to get to soft ball stage. Since the original recipe just says to cook it 6 minutes and it was starting to seem like it was scorching, I decided to pull it off the heat at 220 degrees, about 10 minutes after it started boiling. The flavor is very good and it is creamy, not grainy, but it's mushy. Maybe I should have held out for the soft ball stage. A lot of people have had very good luck with this so it's probably my stove, which is a relic from the early 70s, that isn't giving reliable heat or something. I'm thinking I won't try this one again. I have other fudge recipes that give me r
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
My husband loves this fudge. I didn't use nuts because I don't personally like nuts, but in retrospect I should have because I am giving some to my co-workers and the nuts would have given the fudge a nice texture. It's very rich and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
First batch was grainy. But I made a major mistake! I used sweetened condensed milk rather than evaporated milk. For those of you experienced cooks, this must seem ridiculous. But for me, the cans look the same and were in the same area of the grocery store. So - before I threw in the towel, I bought EVAPORATED milk and tried again (I didn't use the German chocolate for the second batch as it was so expensive - next time I will!). This batch is creamy and delicious, and the recipe really is easy. I will make again! Don't give up! Check your ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Amazing and creamy. I cooked it for 8 minutes (starting from the point where it was at a hard boil. For those of you finding it grainy, you probably aren't cooking it over the low heat for long enough. It needs to be cooked over low heat for a good 20 minutes before you bring it up to a boil. I stirred constantly throughout boiling and the sugar dissolving. It was quite a bit of work, but the end result is spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Loved, loved, loved this recipe. It was easy to make and is excellent tasting. I don't ever need another fudge recipe. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Okay, long story short, I overcooked the syrup mixture and the fudge turned out dry. I was about to toss it when I decided to experiment with trying to fix it. I cut/crumbled the dry fudge into a plastic mixing bowl and added one 14oz can sweetened condensed milk (NOT EVAPORATED MILK) and microwaved until warm, about 45 seconds. Then I stirred, and stirred and stirred until it looked creamy and smooth. Poured it into a 9x13 pan and held my breath. I can not believe that this actually worked. The end result is pretty good, though I believe some of the chocolatyness was lost in the rescue attempt, the texture is great. Beats throwing it out. I have made this recipe before as per the directions and it is a good one, just don't overcook the syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alpine, Utah, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
this was the best fudge I have ever tasted. I followed the recipie exactly and it turned out wonderful! I hope to make the fudge again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
The fudge tasted amazing, and this was the very first time I tried to make fudge. The only problem I had was the fudge was a little too soft when handling it. I was looking to get something that was a little firmer but with the same texture this fudge had in your mouth. If anyone knows any tips on how to firm up the fudge a bit, I would welcome all advice! I also boiled the sugar mixture for an extra 2 min (I live at over 6000 feet in elevation, I always cook things a few minutes longer), and I used milk chocolate instead of the German chocolate. However, I will use the German chocolate next time as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Leon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly but the fudge did not set up. It was very difficult to get it out of the pan and I had to keep it in the refrigerator. The flavor is pretty good, but it is too messy. There are better recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
So easy, So good! Followed the recipe to the letter...but added mini marshmallows to the soft fudge at the end ...AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Seidenspinner Durjan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States