Million Dollar Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Creamy and delicious. A bit sweet for my liking; so the 4 stars. Here's my best advice for making fudge--Use a candy thermometer and take it to the soft ball stage. DO NOT just try and time this. Depending on your heat setting it will change. Try to make sure the sugar is completely dissolved before boiling. Cook on a lower temp until when placed between your fingers, you can no longer feel the grains of sugar. If you use the thermometer, you should have perfect fudge every time. I made over 20lbs of various fudges for Christmas presents and they have all come out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Definitely a winner! While it's a matter of personal preference, I find it easier to use a candy thermometer to boil to the soft ball stage than to try to time it for six minutes, since I'm typically uncertain as to when to start the timer. I've made this recipe successfully several times, though I've forgotten to add the vanilla extract a couple of times. With or without vanilla, the fudge is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I have made this recipe many times and I always get compliments. If you want dark chocolate fudge, just change the type of chocolate. I use 4 squares of bittersweet and 8 squares of semisweet, then cut the sugar to 4 cups and it's still just as creamy and yummy as you'd want. DON'T boil the mixture until all the sugar is dissolved, stir continuously over low-med heat. This usually takes a while so be patient. I have never had this fudge turn out grainy. If it's grainy, then you didn't wait long enough for the sugar to dissolve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
First time fudge maker but having gone through many, many batches in childhood my expectation bar was high. This was super simple to make and a very forgiving recipe! I decided to make it special by mixing up my chocolate varieties and think that definitely helps. Terrific base fudge recipe that sets up perfectly. Lining the pan with parchment definitely helps turn this out easier! I am going to whip up a second batch in peanut butter flavor. I think if you use sweeter chocolate (like I did with adding milk chocolate for instance) you *might* want to cut the 4 1/2 cups to 4 cups sugar. It is rich and sweet and very dense so you can't eat too much! Perfect for holidays. Thanks to the poster and reviewers with their tweaks and steps too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pacific NW chick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Fantastic and seems to forgive mistakes - I wanted to make 2 different flavors of fudge (traditional chocolate fudge, and a white-chocolate peanut butter fudge), so I eye-balled all of the chocolate measurements, and then poured about half the boiling syrup to make one flavor, and the other approximate half of the boiling syrup into the other bowl for the other flavor. It's about 30 minutes post-pour and they have set up nicely and have everything I hope for in a fudge! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Excellent recipe. Creamy but sets up well, very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Awesome fudge, and a great base to make other chocolate versions. I've never been able to get fudge out right, and this one worked perfect! The tip of starting out on a low flame and allowing the sugar to dissolve before boil was a great suggetion and took about 17-20 minutes. We can't get enough and thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
it turned out dry what happened?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JanMcD
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This fudge is wonderful,it has a rich chocolate taste and is nice and creamy. No problems making it at all. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States